All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Resolutions

Posted by Susan on December 15, 2009

I think out of all the Holidays this season , I like New Years the best. For one thing, it’s the one Holiday that Matt and I have no family obligations. We usually have a nice dinner together, play video games, or watch a movie and watch the ball drop, and toast to the upcoming year. It’s just us, and that’s nice for a change.

Another reason I love it so much is, I love the idea of having a fresh new year ahead of me, filled with possibilities, and unknown twists and turns. And I love making resolutions.

I know, a lot of people don’t believe in them. Some say resolutions are just setting yourself up for failure. I don’t see it that way. What I usually do is write them all down. I list EVERYTHING I would love to do in the new year. No matter how crazy, or improbable.  All things, big and small. I commit it all to paper and put it away. I will take it my list out from the prior year on New Years Eve, and see how many I actually accomplished. Some years I actually surprise myself.  I usually accomplish more than I expect , upon reading over the list. I think in actually putting my wants, my dreams and my hopes out there, saying them aloud, committing them to paper, my chances are better.

This year I have some very specific resolutions. Things that I want for myself, that I want to work toward. I also have some crazy ones too! Hey you never know, right?

I think that resolutions are important. I know that each day, each hour, each minute is a fresh start. But there is something magical about making promises to yourself on the stroke of midnight in the face of a brand new year. Call them goals if that makes you more comfortable, but make a commitment to yourself. To make changes , to grow, and to blossom in your own way. Dream big, who cares if it seems crazy or far-fetched. A lot of things can happen in the course of a year !!!! 🙂

Today was day #1 of our yearly visit from the State at work today and I don’t mind telling you it was HELL ! I am so glad it is over. I literally ran out the door leaving work today. The stress and the tension was incredible. One day down 3 more to go! I hope I survive !!!!!!!!!

I got up early as usual, got in my cardio:

  • 30 min. Sin bike
  • 30 min. elliptical resistance program

Breakfast this morning, my usual Breakfast cookie. today’s was made with:

  • oats
  • chocolate peanut butter
  • chocolate chips
  • walnuts
  • coconut
  • a handful of Go Lean Crunch

It was exceptional ! It was filling too. I eat it with a big glass of water. Good thing too, because I was so busy today lunch was really quick, and pretty small.

I ran into the break room and wolfed this down in minutes, because I was too busy to eat and I knew I needed something! I had a Strawberry Chobani Yogurt with a scoop of protein powder and some Go Lean Crunch. I am seriously considering skipping lunch tomorrow. I have no time with all that’s going on right now at work, and eating lunch so quickly and rushed , I ended up with some massive heartburn ! I may be better off skipping it all together!

When I Finally walked in the door home , I decided I deserved a treat, so I had a 100 calorie Hershey Bar!

I jumped into the shower after my treat, to scrub away the day! I felt somewhat better, and was ready for some dinner. I had some tilapia  and Couscous. I had a spinach salad with it.

I had a scoop of chocolate Ice cream for dessert with some chocolate syrup and whipped cream . Yum! Just what I needed after a trying day.

I am now ready to crawl into bed, because I am beat! I ran around all day like an idiot, and I feel it in every muscle in my body. I am absolutely in need of some restorative sleep to get me through yet another day of craziness tomorrow ! I leave you with this photo………..

This is Little Edie Beale. She is slinking away from the scene of the crime ! She is constantly terrorizing the Christmas tree ! I am lucky that I have any ornaments left! Whenever I see her under it, I shoo her away! Matt took the photo of her trying to flee when she heard me coming! Such a bad Kitty huh? At least this year she isn’t trying to climb it! Last year I was in the shower before work and heard a huge crash. I ran out to find the tree on the ground and no cat in sight! But I knew it was her!!!!!!!!!

Have a great night!

One Response to “Resolutions”

  1. Wow! Sounds like a hectic day. I do hope tomorrow is a better one for you.

Leave a Reply

 
