All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

And A Merry Christmas It Was …… Two Down , One To Go !

Posted by Susan on December 26, 2009

The last 24 Hours have been such whirlwind ! The Holidays always are, aren’t they? After a full day of work yesterday, I came home and got ready for our traditional Christmas Eve celebration. My Mom always hosted this celebration in the past and since she’s been gone, I’ve taken it upon myself to carry on the tradition. I invite everyone and who ever comes between the two families [Matt’s and mine] comes!

Here’s my spread ! I made a baked ziti, a salad, and some fresh crusty bread [I didn’t make the bread, Matt visited a local bakery minutes before the party].

My baked ziti came out great ! I have no recipe for this. My Mom never wrote down any of her recipes, as is true of most Italian cooks. I just throw everything in, the way my Mom did, and for we whatever reason, it always comes out perfect.

We also had a huge table full of delicious desserts. I can honestly say that I ate a LOT! At least I got my cardio workout in yesterday morning!

This morning , we stopped at my work to drop off a gift for a special friend of mine, and then we were off to my mother in-law’s for Christmas celebration #2.

We started a tradition a few years back of “Re-Gifting” either gifts we’ve gotten that we don’t want, or just stuff around our houses that we don’t want anymore. It is usually just a bunch of junk, but we always have fun watching the reaction of the person who is lucky enough to get your junk !

Here is a peak at my junk loot!!!!!! This little tradition is usually good for a lot of laughs and fun! this year was no exception !

I also got some Christmas $$$$$ that will be going promptly to another order from OldNavy.com!!!!!!

Once again, today I ate a LOT! I am soooooo ready to get back to reality and back to healthy eating and my workout schedule! Having some time to enjoy treats and have fun is fine, but I miss my usual routine! I never , ever thought I would get to the point where I am sick of sweets and fatty foods, but here I am. I cannot wait for a good workout tomorrow morning, and a Breakfast Cookie and green tea to start my day!

I feel sluggish and bloated and just YUCK! Holidays , for me, are a nice place to visit, but I wouldn’t want to live there! I can’t believe I did live there for so many years. My how things change!

We have one more celebration on Sunday , but I am not worried about it too much. I am pretty much all junk food-ed out , at this point!

So all in all, Christmas 2009 was a lot of fun ……… but to be totally honest, I am kind of glad it’s over !

3 Responses to “And A Merry Christmas It Was …… Two Down , One To Go !”

  1. Melissa said

    I think there are cheap jeans at the Old Navy stores tomorrow, so maybe online also. Good for you!!

    The food looks fabulous. So glad you had a great Christmas!

  2. syl said

    Everything looks so great Susan, I just wanted to let you know that I am thinking of you today,
    hugs my dear friend.
    xoxo
    Syl

  3. Lisa said

    I cannot agree with you enough, NORMAL ROUTINE HERE I COME!!! 🙂 I am going to Whole foods to see if they have this new gotta have it PASTA SLIM. Literally 20 calories per serving. It looks like pasta but is spinah! Who knew: ) Hope you had a great Christmas!

Leave a Reply

 
