All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

The Aftermath And On To My Favorite Holiday Of Them All!

Posted by Susan on December 27, 2009

After a 24 hour period of eating things I hardly ever eat , I feel pretty gross! But that’s OK. I had fun. It is amazing how swollen my hands were this morning. My wedding rings are usually spinning on my finger, but today they fit perfectly. I think I over did it on, not only the salt consumption, but the sugar consumption as well!

This morning I got up and knew it was time to jump back into my routine. I don’t workout on Saturdays anymore, but since I skipped yesterday’s workout, I knew I needed to get to it. Is it just me, or did the past 24 hours feel more like a week than a day? I feel like I haven’t worked out for a long time, but in reality, I worked out Thurs. morning.

I did a little less than I originally intended to, but I got in a solid hour of exercise so I am fine with it:

  • Medicine Ball 200 Circuit (5 lb. medicine ball)
  • 15 min. HIIT / spin bike
  • Medicine Ball 200 Circuit ( 5 lb. medicine ball)
  • 20 min. HIIT / spin bike

I will be honest. After all the indulgences, getting back on the horse was not easy. But I am so glad that I did it! For me, occasional going overboard [and I mean OCCASIONALLY!] is not an issue as long as I jump right back into my routine when all is said and done.

I finished my workout at almost 10:00, and was so happy to have my usual Breakfast Cookie waiting for me. It was so good to eat something wholesome and real for a change!

After breakfast I did a few chores. I stripped and changed the sheets on our bed, and started laundry. Aside from that today I did a whole lot of NOTHING !! I have been in my PJ’s all day! I watched some TV, caught up on some of my favorite blogs, and pretty much just chilled out all day.

Around 1:00 I decided to make some lunch. I made a spinach wrap , made with Laughing Cow Cheese and baby spinach. With the wrap I had some baby carrots, and Special K crackers.

After lunch I went to lay on my bed and read, and ended up falling asleep for 2 hours! I never do that , so I must have been tired! When I woke up from my nap I took a shower, put on fresh PJ’s, and started on dinner.

I made a turkey burger, and some Annie’s Organic Mac & Cheese.

The best part of dinner was this yummy salad! I find that adding little extras to my salads , I am not so much interested in dressing. I tend to use a very tiny bit compared to what I use when I don’t add things. Tonight the combination was stellar. Spring mix greens, with RF Sharp Cheddar, sunflower seeds, and dried cranberries. I am a huge fan of the combination of sweet and savory flavors, and the sweet tangy flavor of the cranberries was a great compliment to the sharp cheddar flavor. This was a perfect salad!

Yes, even after the dessert overload of the holiday festivities, I still had to have something sweet after my meal ! I had a Diet 7UP cupcake , with a scoop of lite chocolate ice cream , a squirt of chocolate syrup, and a dollop of whipped cream! Probably not necessary tonight, but what the hey?

Tonight I plan to hang out with Matt, do some reading , and get to bed at a decent hour ! Tomorrow we have to food shop in the morning, and go to our final Christmas celebration! I think I will be happy tomorrow night when Christmas is finally over! Especially when my favorite holiday is right around the corner.

As I mentioned before I LOVE New Years Eve. I can’t wait to start our celebration! I think I appreciate it so much because as with most couples, there are a whole lot of family obligations involved with Thanksgiving and Christmas. It is so important to get both sides of the family visits in. I always feel like Matt and I hardly get a minute to spend together. [not that I am complaining, we love the fun times spent with our families, they are some of our best memories]

Matt and I have our own little traditions on New Years Eve, though and I always look forward to it. After New years we are both off for 6 entire days , one of which is my birthday :). So we are also looking forward to that as well!

So, after today’s workout and “back to reality” eating, I feel a little bit back on track. I hope that tomorrow’s party doesn’t throw me off again, but I doubt it! I am pretty much tired of holiday food! I wait all year to eat these things, and then I makes sure I get more than my fill, and I am good for the rest of the year !!!!!!!

I hope everyone is recovering from the whirlwind that is Christmas, and looking a head to a bright shiny new year, full of promise and endless possibilities !!! I know I am !

Peace!

One Response to “The Aftermath And On To My Favorite Holiday Of Them All!”

  1. Melissa said

    That dessert looks awesome.
    I don’t have any big plans for New Year’s. Hubby will be out of town and I think I’ll just snuggle in at home.

Leave a Reply

 
