All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Just When You Think Your Safe ………….

Posted by Susan on December 28, 2009

Today was out final Christmas celebration. Let me tell you , I am so glad this Holiday Season has come to an end!

I thought today would be easy. The plan was that today would be appetizers, and dessert. I figured it would be easy enough to navigate through. But as sometimes happens, the best laid plans are made to be broken!

My day began with my beloved Breakfast Cookie. Today’s Cookie was made with:

  • 1/2 c. of old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 c. of steel-cut oats
  • 1 T. dried cranberries
  • 1 T. chocolate/peanut butter chips
  • 1 T. shredded coconut
  • 1/2 scoop of vanilla protein powder
  • 1 T. peanut butter
  • 1 T. of walnuts

I also had a hot cup of green tea with it.

Then we were off to food shop for the week. While we were at the grocery store, Matt left me for a little bit, claiming he had something he had to do ………. I think it may have had something to do with my birthday 🙂 , but I can’t be sure ;). Once we got home and I put away our food for the week, I started getting ready for Christmas celebration #3.

This is my cat Grimjack. For some reason he loves watching me get ready to go out. He watches closely while I moisturize, and put on makeup, do my hair ……..he is totally fascinated my primping!

I decided to be smart , and eat lunch before we went. My reason for this was that since there was only going to be appetizers served, I would eat less if I didn’t go to the party on an empty stomach.

I made a delicious salad. Spring mix greens, RF cheddar cheese, dried cranberries, a hard-cooked egg, and a sprinkle of sunflower seeds. It was so good, and filled with protein, to keep my hunger at bay.

There were tons of yummy appetizers served. I had a few tastes of some dips with crackers, and shared 2 small plates with Matt. [not shown]

I may or may not have had quite a few home-made chocolates ………….

The next thing I know, we are being called in to have dinner ! DINNER !!!!????? But …………. Oh well , what’s a girl to do? It was 5:00, time for dinner anyway, so I went with it!

Here’s my plate. A small scoop of baked ziti, a slice and 1/2 of ham, 2 sausages, and a chicken empanada . All of it was so good!

And the food just keeps on coming ! Next an entire table full of my ultimate weakness! DESSERT! I wanted to try a little bit of everything, but it was way too much, so I picked the things I wanted most.

This is what I chose. A piece of my husband’s special Peanut Butter Pie. He makes these only for Thanksgiving and Christmas, and both his family and mine look forward to it every year. The funniest thing about this pie is, although everyone loves it and he is famous for it, he doesn’t like it. He does all that work making them for all of us, but doesn’t even eat any himself. The pie is heaven, so I had to have a small piece. I also had another chocolate, a chocolate frosted ginger bread drop, and an Italian cookie that I don’t know the name of, but my Mother’s aunt always made them when we were kids, so the taste of them brings me back to childhood Christmas ‘s .

Right now I am full as can be! UGH! I am so grateful that this is the END! I hate this bloated feeling. Although I didn’t eat a lot compared to what I’ve eaten in the past, it is food I hardly ever eat,so it makes me feel bloated and gross.

I am more than ready to go back to my normal eating habits, no matter how boring they may sometimes seem ! Routine = Comfort  for me.

I have never been more anxious to get back to my day to day life! I have found during the past 3 days, that I actually like my usual routine, and boy did I miss it ! So I am off to unwind, take some Tums, and get a good night’s sleep in order to get up tomorrow morning and face the new week  ahead. The last week of 2009! It was such a great year, I can hardly believe it’s is over.

Have a great last week of 2009! Hopefully I will recover from all the crazy eating quickly! I plan on drinking a whole lot of green tea and water to flush out all of the Merry Christmas in my system !!!!!!!! Have a great Monday!

Peace.

3 Responses to “Just When You Think Your Safe ………….”

  1. Melissa said

    Sounds like you did very well. I’m glad it’s all over too!

  2. bareitall said

    I totally agree with you…all that food does not make for a good feeling. I’m excited to be back to the routine and started my day off with a yummy breakfast cookie. 🙂

  3. Tiffany said

    Yum that salad looks delish!!!

Leave a Reply

 
