All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Getting Back To Normal

Posted by Susan on December 30, 2009

I’m finally beginning to come around. I’m still suffering with some tummy troubles, but I at least have some of my energy back. This morning after my workout I actually felt recharged instead of like crawling back into bed! I got a great night’s sleep last night, and I am sure that had something to do with it too.

Today was a cardio day for me, and since I had such a hard time with yesterday’s workout, I decided to make it an a Steady State cardio day. I usually feel that SS cardio is a waste of time for me, but since I haven’t done an easy day in a while, I figured it couldn’t hurt:

  • 30 min. SS /Spin Bike
  • 30 min. SS/ Elliptical

I do a lot of thinking during my commute to work. Today I was thinking about motivation and what keeps me motivated to continue plugging away at this fitness thing. I’ve stayed with this for an entire year come January. What exactly motivates me to get up every morning to workout instead of rolling over and sleeping for another hour or more? What keeps me planning meals, and watching portions like a hawk? I sometimes feel like it is just a habit now, something I do without thinking, an automatic behavior. Other times I think it has to be something more. This is what I came up with on today’s commute:

  • Fear. I think that is my #1 motivation. I was so miserable when I was over weight. I mean really , really unhappy. I felt frumpy and unattractive. I never want to end up in that place again. Not ever , EVER. Remembering those times makes for a huge motivating factor. I am really fearful of falling back into old habits. I know that I need to keep up the exercise and the mindful eating if I want to stay in my happy place, so I just do it.
  • Vanity. I like wearing cute clothes, I like how I look now. I like wearing size 6 jeans.
  • Pride. I’ve done it. I proved everyone wrong and finally lost the weight. I will be damned if I will gain it back so that anyone can ever say to me, “I told you all that it was a waste of time, you gained it all back anyway!”
  • It feels good. I am addicted to how I feel after a workout, and after eating  healthy balanced meals. I am more energetic, I think more clearly, I feel strong and accomplished. I like those feelings, so I keep doing the things that make me feel that way.
  • I’m worth it. I finally feel as though I am worth the time and effort it takes to take care of myself.

Motivations are a personal thing. Everyone’s reasoning is different. If you aren’t feeling motivated [and we all feel that way sometimes] try a little trick I that I use. Fake it till you make it! I just do it anyway. I stop over thinking it, and just do it anyway, even when my heart just isn’t in it! It works. Pretend you love it, that your excited about it. Sooner or later you will begin seeing some hard-earned changes in both body and mind, and that is when motivation hits you. Nothing makes you feel more motivated than results!

OK, on to the eats for the day:

This morning, old faithful. A Breakfast Cookie. Yum as usual.

Lunch today was a bit sparse. I had a spinach/ Laughing Cow Cheese wrap. I forgot to pack anything to go along with it, so needless to say it didn’t hold me until dinner. I ended up snacking on Special K crackers when I got home from work. [not shown]

Dinner tonight was a repeat of  Sunday night’s dinner [leftover Mac & Cheese] with one big difference. I accidentally made a regular hamburger instead of a turkey burger :(. I didn’t realize it until I took my first bite, and wasn’t about to cook another one. I was pretty bummed. Oh well ………… Aside from the burger I didn’t really want , it was pretty good.

I had dessert tonight, but not much. Just a handful of chocolate covered raisins. Still in sugar shock from the Christmas cookie OD.

Now I am off to bed to read and relax. I can’t believe that my peaceful New Years Eve is only 2 days away. I can’t wait ! We are also supposed to get snow storms this coming weekend, and that’s fine with me. I love snow as long as I don’t have to drive to work in it! Have a great night!

Peace.

6 Responses to “Getting Back To Normal”

  1. Melissa said

    I like your list of reasons you stay motivated. I’m totally going to have to copy that soon!

  2. Glad to hear you are feeling better! Motivation is totally key with this journey we are on. And throw in some fear to go along with it!

    I am right there with you on that one!

  3. Tiffany said

    Thanks for sharing what keeps you motivated. It’s a good reminder for me to keep plugging along.

    Can’t wait to be in to size 6 jeans also. It will happen in 2010.

  4. syl said

    love what motivates you Susan, you will never go back!
    You have accomplished so much, feel great going into the new year like that doesn’t it.
    it’s alot of work but so worth it!
    Happy new year Susan!

  5. Missy said

    I love your motivators! A lot of those are the same motivators I have to get rid of this last 17 pounds. I love that you can sit back and see how far you’ve come and why you’re worth it!!

  6. bareitall said

    It’s important to know what motivates you so that you can keep plugging into that well when you have bad days like you did Monday. I’m glad you are feeling better!

Leave a Reply

 
