All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

First Post Of A The New Year

Posted by Susan on January 2, 2010

Last night started out great. Matt and I had a nice dinner together……..

And that’s where it started going so wrong! One minute I was laying on the bed playing with the cat, and the next minute I was waking up , and it was 12:05 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I slept through New Years !!!!!! WTF ! Matt said he tried waking me but I wouldn’t budge. He said he just figured I needed the sleep so he let me be!

Since I’d slept 4 hours [I laid down at 8:00], I watched the rerun of the ball dropping on MTV , and caught an episode of Jersey Shore, and called it a night! Bummer!

I ended up sleeping this morning until 9:20, which for me is unheard of! I was hungry for breakfast when I got up, but first I decided to bravely assess the damage I’d done this holiday. I stepped on the scale. I knew that it wouldn’t be pretty, so I wasn’t too horrified when I saw that I’d gained 5 lbs. Oh well, I will lose it. And the celebrating is about over for me and I will be back to work soon!

I made a breakfast cookie for myself last night, so I would have it this morning. I had it with a nice hot cup of tea. I think that I am better off sleeping less , because my sleeping in left me feeling blah and groggy.

The original plan for today was to do a whole lot of NOTHING, but as often happens, plans are made to change. We ended up going out to do some shopping. We hit Big Lot’s [overstock store], where I got a lot of great buys. We also hit up Target, where I get my chicken and fish, and Border’s to spend a gift card I got as an early birthday gift. By the time we got around to lunch it was after 3:00.

We ended up with Mc Donald’s. Not the healthiest first lunch for the first day of 2010, but it will do. I had a plain hamburger, and a few of Matt’s french fries.

Since Lunch was on the not so healthy side of the tracks , I decided on a cleaner option for dinner. A spinach salad with RF cheese, sunflower seeds, and 5 shrimp.

For dessert, 2 squares of Milk Chocolate ! Yum!

On the agenda for tonight :

Movie night ! We picked these up today with some gift cards we got! I’m looking forward to a night of relaxation.

This weekend is going to be spent packing up Christmas decorations, and doing some organizing [one of my resolutions]. Tomorrow night will be the last celebration for me. My sister and niece are coming over for dinner for my Birthday. It isn’t until Wednesday, but we will celebrate it tomorrow since it falls during the week. I plan on having some of my special Birthday Cake, and that will be the end for me. Time to tighten up routine again and get back to reality. Get this 5 lbs. of holiday weight off and jump into 2010 with both feet!

Tomorrow I will post my Resolutions for 2010. I haven’t finished them yet …… a little late , but what can you expect from a chick who sleeps through her favorite holiday ! 😦

4 Responses to “First Post Of A The New Year”

  1. Melissa said

    I have been wanting to watch the Hangover. Let us know what you think!

  2. Sounds like a pretty productive day to me, even if you slept in. I went to bed at 10:30 last night purposely. I wanted to get some rest, since it is part of my goals for the Perfect 10 challenge.

    I can’t wait to see your 2010 goals. I will be here to support you all the way!

  3. Heidi said

    Just wanted to say HAPPY NEW YEAR Susan! Wishing you all the best for 2010.

  4. Missy said

    Sorry I’m so late commenting – sounds like you needed some sleep! Hope you had a great holiday!!

Leave a Reply

 
