All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

It’s A New Day: Pity Party Is Over

Posted by Susan on January 5, 2010

Last night was a night of inner conflict. I spent the entire night having an internal conversation with myself. After assessing the holiday damages , I was feeling pretty sorry for myself. I am not sure exactly why, I mean, I made the choices, how could I ever imagine there wouldn’t be a price.

The “old me” started rearing her ugly head! ” I already gained, I may as well eat what I want “. I had a hidden bag of Nacho Chips in the downstairs storage room. I had actually forgotten about them. I was so tempted to break them open and munch away while I watched Glee. Then, [thankfully] the “new me” resurfaced. I opened the chips, ran water over them, and tossed them in the trash, firmly telling myself “NOT HAPPENING!!!!!”

I was not about to fall into the old trap of destructive behavior. I was not going to make me feel better, in fact it was only going to add to my feelings of disappointment. Not to mention how gross and sick the chips would have made me feel physically. I realized that it was just not worth it.

So, this morning I woke up, ready to put the pieces back together. The first thing I did was get on the scale. As it turns out, I was actually 2 lbs. down, making my holiday gain 7 lbs. instead of 9 lbs. That made me feel a bit better. I will get this gain off, and I will try to look at this whole holiday thing as a lesson rather than a mistake. I mean, I’m human, and things like this will happen from time to time. I put a lot of pressure on myself to be perfect. And there is no such thing.

I was ready to jump back in today with both feet. I was off today [ I am off until Thurs.] so I woke up naturally, without the annoying alarm. It was heaven!

I made myself a cup of tea, and was excited to dig in to my Breakfast Cookie. Today’s cookie was made with:

  • old fashion oats
  • steel-cut oats
  • T. chocolate chips
  • T. pecans
  • T. coconut
  • T. dried cranberries
  • T. peanut butter
  • 1/2 scoop of chocolate protein powder

It was so good, and so filling! It also was great fuel for my morning workout.

I did my scheduled Circuit Training/Interval. Today was also Matt’s first day of making good on his New Years Resolution of working out 3x a week for 30 min. I had him do 15 min. Intervals on the treadmill, and 15 min. SS on the elliptical. He did great, although I don’t think he enjoyed it much. Hopefully he will catch the workout bug after a few weeks and learn to at least like it!

Around noon Matt and I ran to the Mall. He needed a haircut, I needed to spend an Old Navy gift card. I got a really cute sweater with it, and Matt looks great! He really needed a haircut in the worst way!

While we were out Matt wanted to get pizza slices for lunch , but I really wanted to make today a fresh start, so I declined. Matt opted for pretzel bites instead of pizza. I had a few , but I planned on eating a light lunch when I got home.

I had a serving of humus [2 T.] and a serving of Triscuits [15 crackers]. It was perfect. Enough of a protein/fiber combo to carry me until dinner.

I wasn’t sure what I was in the mood for tonight for dinner. I decided on some tilapia, and a sweet potato, with a spinach salad .

Yes, I am back to having dessert. I lost weight eating it before, and I will lose weight eating it this time too! I think it is really important. It makes me feel less deprived, and it also gives me something to look forward to at the end of a day of eating well. I had some sugar-free cookies, and a glass of FF milk.

Since I’m not working tomorrow, I think I will relax and watch some TV, maybe a few more episodes of Glee, and finish the book I’m reading. There will be no snacking tonight! It is one bad habit that’s I’ve allowed to slip back into my life again! And I have every intention of letting it slip right back out! It is something I’ve always struggled with. I was doing OK with it, until the week before Christmas, and it’s been down hill ever since! Not good!

It feels really good to have made it through [just about] my first day back on track! The first day is always the hardest…..it will get easier from here. 🙂

6 Responses to “It’s A New Day: Pity Party Is Over”

  1. MB said

    I’m glad the pity party is over. I don’t think I could ever stop at a single serving of Triscuits. Every healthy decision gets easier and easier to make. Keep it going …

  2. Melissa said

    Your meals look great!!

  3. Yay! Good job! I know you are going to do great!

  4. Katie said

    Isn’t it surprising how the old habits can slip in so easily? Grrrrrr…

  5. Heidi said

    Happy Belated Birthday Susan!

    I have complete and utter faith that you will take off this little gain in no time. You have all the skills and the determination. Personally I think it’s OK to let loose once in a while. They key is to rein it back in right after and not let it snowball out of control. I have no doubt that you’ll rein it in just fine. You enjoyed your holidays, don’t regret it. Pick up and move on, just like you’re doing.

  6. Tricia said

    Yum, your breakfast cookie looks great! I think I’m the only one in blogland that hasnt made these. Any tips?

    And thank you so much for the sweet comment on my anniversary post. I appreciate the support.

Leave a Reply

 
