All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

It’s My Birthday: A Look Back

Posted by Susan on January 6, 2010

So, since today is my birthday, I thought it would be fun to take a look back over the years. I am 46 today. Honestly, I can’t believe I am that old ! I tease Matt [ who is 7 years younger than me, BTW] all the time, telling him to be nice to me, because half my life is over already. That is if I end up living to be almost 100 !!!!

There is a part of me that wonders why I am even admitting to this advanced age. But truth be told, I don’t feel 46. I am now in the best shape I’ve ever been, wearing the smallest size I’ve ever worn, and feeling the most confident, and the strongest both mentally and physically that I’ve ever felt. I guess that counts for something.

OK, so here is my life up until now !

This is my Dad , holding me the day I came home from the hospital.

Aww ! Look how they folded my hands…… a little angel huh? [ha ha]

My Mom made that costume for me, even the yarn wig.

Another angel picture. I can remember my Mom posing me for this picture. I think it was wishful thinking on her part. [she made this dress for me too, as well as a matching one for my sister]

My first Holy Communion. Another dress made by my talented Mom. I am the one on the right. Check out the two little women in the background. I love their hats!

Ahh, the awkward years. I must have been about 14 or 15 here. Love the flippy hair. The other kids are my brother and my sister. I also remember being posed for this one, except I think it was my Dad doing it this time.

Now we enter the lost decade ……. the 1980’s. I have this one picture taken in my senior year of High School. after that I was pretty much MIA for the rest of the decade. I was an 80’s party girl, chasing bands and hanging with my friends. I wasn’t around much to get my picture taken apparently !

I resurfaced in the 90’s, just in time for my brother’s wedding! At this time my sister and I were working hard and renting a little house together.

Then Kate came along ……..

Poor kid !

A co- worker and I hamming it up at work in 2001.

Me trying to get Kate to wear the hat that went with her first Halloween costume …… she hated the thing and never wore it. It looked better on me anyway.

Along came Matt in 2003 …this pic was taken in 2005 though.

My wedding in 2007.

And here we are back to the present ! It’s been fun ! Here’s to another 46 !!!!!!! πŸ™‚

12 Responses to “It’s My Birthday: A Look Back”

  1. Molly said

    Adorables. Young you looks just like Katie now!!

  2. syl said

    What a great post Susan! Happy Birthday to you!
    Oh and I love the new lay out

  3. bareitall said

    Aw, that was lovely. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! I hope you have a wonderful year.

    Is it my imagination or does Kate look like you as a kid (I’m thinking the First Communion photo…)?

  4. Heidi said

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY Susan!!!!

    You look as good (actually I think better) than you did 10-15 yrs ago.

    Great pic timeline! I had to laugh as you described yourself during the 80s – hahaha.

  5. Melissa said

    Happy Birthday!!! Here’s to another 46 or more GREAT years!!

  6. Beth said

    Happy Birthday Susan! Love seeing all the pictures! You are my favorite role model for eating at maintenance, I’ve probably said that before! And I hate how this is going to sound, but I like seeing that someone like you can slip over the holidays; it gives me hope that I can make it.

  7. Matt said

    I have to agree with everyone who said that Katie looks like Sue in some of those shots. It’s amazing to me sometimes to see how much she looks like her Aunt Sue….

  8. Renee said

    Happy Birthday, Susan!!! I hope you have a wonderful day!!

    I love your blog and love checking in daily! You are an inspiration!

  9. Heather said

    I love that look back in time! Happy Birthday!!

  10. amazing! you look truly amazing… and I would have never pegged you for 46, maybe early 40’s to say the least!

  11. Katie said

    Happy Birthday! Thanks for sharing the pics!

    BTW, I did NOT think you were 46 but 40 is the New 30 anyways right πŸ˜‰

  12. Missy said

    Fun walk down memory lane! You looked gorgeous on your wedding. Happy happy birthday!!

Leave a Reply

 
