All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Nightmares and Chainsaws

Posted by Susan on January 6, 2010

What a night last night! Night time TV obviously does not agree with me! I could not sleep last night at all. I was up until 3am spooked, thinking there was something in the house. What ? It was something I watched on TV that must have set it off, because it was totally unreasonable! The house was alarmed for goodness sake. It was totally stupid, but still kept me up all night. What’s weirder is, that I’ve never felt even a little nervous in this house before, and I think that freaked me out even more. When I was finally ready to sleep, Matt was snoring like a chainsaw……. enough said.

Needless to say, after 3 hours of sleep last night, I was feeling gross today. Instead of my usual morning workout, I opted to skip it. That is not like me either, but I just felt awful. I did get on the scale this morning. I weigh in at 144.4 lbs. [I was 147.2 lbs. yesterday] This drastic difference in weight from one day to the other leads me to believe that holiday weight gain may not have been as bad as I thought. So, that’s a good thing!

I pretty much sat around all day and watched a Bad Girls marathon all day long!I thought about  getting my cardio in later in the afternoon, but decided to give myself an early birthday gift and give myself a day off! [tomorrow is my birthday :)]

Although I skipped my scheduled cardio, my eating was right on point:

For breakfast , I had my beloved Breakfast Cookie, and a cup of green tea. I wanted to try to get down 3 cups of green tea a day, but today I just couldn’t stomach it!

I wasn’t in the mood for fuss at lunch time so I had Strawberry Chobani with Kashi H2H cereal, and a T. of shredded almonds. I added 1/2 a scoop of vanilla protein powder to my yogurt.

Around 4 I was feeling a little queasy, and at the time, I thought I would do a quick cardio session. I had a Kashi Chocolate Raspberry Bar. I never ended up working out though……. 😦

Dinner tonight was AMAZING! I decided to get a little creative. I took some leftover Penne Pasta, put it in a pan on the stove with a little olive oil, sweet basil, garlic, oregano, salt and pepper and a sprinkle  of FF Parmesan cheese and saute’ it all wit some shrimp. I added a little Mozzarella cheese when I plated it. It was so good, I could have eaten 5 more dishes of it ……. but of course I didn’t. I paired it with my favorite spinach salad combination. What a great dinner!

Dessert tonight, some Dark Chocolate Covered  Raisins. Perfect ending to a great meal!

I didn’t do much today but I did do one thing I’ve been meaning to do for a while now, and never seem to find the time.

I gave myself a manicure! Many moons ago I did nails as a part-time job, to supplement my full time job. I never did my own though. The last time I wore nail polish was my wedding ! I thought it would be nice to do something special for myself, considering tomorrow is my birthday ! I have a special post planned to commemorate the day  for tomorrow, so come back and check it out! It should be fun!

Let’s hope I get sleep tonight ! I set my alarm early so I can get a workout in before the day starts tomorrow. Matt is taking me out for a birthday breakfast in the morning. Today’s skipped workout reminded me that I am a morning girl when it comes to working out for sure !!!!!! Got to get it out of the way early so I can forget it!

6 Responses to “Nightmares and Chainsaws”

  1. Wow! New look to the blog! Looks great!

  2. what a crazy night! sorry to hear it was a rough one!

    loving the manicure!! i used to do them all the time but lately they just seem so time consuming!

    to a better one!

  3. Melissa said

    Woo hoo on the weight loss. I’ve noticed that on a lot of blogs lately.
    Can’t wait for the birthday post!

  4. syl said

    love the nails Susan, isn’t if funny how soemthing so simple can make us feel so good!
    Happy Birthday Susan!
    xoxo

  5. Tina said

    Your breakfast cookies always look so yummy…and I know you list the ingredients…but how about a recipe? How do you do it? Thanks!!

  6. Missy said

    Oh pretty nails! Love your ring too!!!

Leave a Reply

 
