All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Making The Best Of It

Posted by Susan on January 12, 2010

Today was my first rest day during the week. As I’ve mentioned before, I usually take Saturdays and Sundays as rest days. This is my first time trying it during the week. I have to admit, it ROCKED !! Getting 2 extra hours of sleep, and having the time to have breakfast at home was really nice! I think the next four weeks will work out just fine. It is nice to have something to look forward to , especially after a dreaded Monday.

I was able to sit down, in my warm , cozy kitchen and have a nice relaxing breakfast! I dined on my usual Breakfast Cookie with a nice hot cup of green tea before facing the cold and the ride to work.

Unfortunately, I forgot my lunch today as a result of my relaxing morning ! [Boo :(] Instead of getting all pissy, or worse scrounging around the vending machines to come up with something for lunch, I decided to let this mishap work in my favor. I made today a 12 hour fast day. I fasted from breakfast [ 5:30 AM] until dinner [5:30 PM]. I haven’t attempted a fast for a while, and since I want to get the last 2 lbs. of Holiday Gain off, it couldn’t hurt.

I won’t say it was exactly easy, but it wasn’t horrible. I kept myself hydrated all day, and kept busy so I wouldn’t think about it. I made it through the day, and lived to tell about it!

Since lunch was nonexistent, I decided to make dinner something special! I made a shrimp and whole wheat spaghetti dish, topped with Parmesan cheese, olive oilย  and mozzarella cheese. It was AMAZING! I added my usual spinach salad to my meal as well.

Again tonight dessert was a toasted English muffin with chocolate chips. I won’t be getting sick of this combination any time soon! it totally hits the spot with my end of the day sweet tooth!

I am pretty proud of myself for taking today’s mistake and turning it around in my favor! It could have been a disaster! Sometimes just knowing there isn’t any food available makes me instantly ravenous. It is all in my head , but I can’t always distinguish the difference when I am in one of those panics.

I am excited to workout tomorrow even though this morning was so nice. I am super sore from yesterday morning! It was definitely an excellent workout! I love when I change things up, and feel that kind ofย  sore. It’s a sure signal that I am getting something out of it.

One of my resolutions this year was to concentrate on building muscle. I am hoping to firm up and get a little definition. I am adding more weight exercises, and less body weight exercises. I want to have less jiggle this year in my swim suit! I am interested to see just how far a 46 year-old body can go. I’m realistically, entering into a place in my life where my body will begin to change. I am going to try to fight it all the way. It will be interesting to see if it is possible! Stay tuned, I guess!

I am off to read some before going to bed! The party is over! Back to a 2:30 AM wake up call and a hard workout tomorrow!

Later ๐Ÿ™‚

8 Responses to “Making The Best Of It”

  1. bareitall said

    Hi Susan. Glad you made lemonade out of lemons today. ๐Ÿ™‚ So I know you do circuit training and I’m curious how you make up your circuits. Jillians try to hit each muscle group twice a week and intersperse weights with lots of cardio. Are your similar?

  2. You are going to find amazing changes with doing strength training – I think you will love it! I am 41 and am in the best shape of my life and a lot of it came from lifting ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Melissa said

    Glad the lunch didn’t derail you. Love the lunchbox!

  4. Tiffany said

    Chocolate chips on a peanut butter english muffin = GENIUS. I’m going to have to try that.

    One of these days I may have to try the type of fasting you do. It intrigues me, but I’m not sure that I could do it without being REALLY cranky. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I have never tried fasting. I don’t know if I could do it or not. Good job for turning that missing lunch into a positive!

  6. syl said

    Susan, I am loving your new out look. You had me worried abit at the end of last year because I would think of you every monday morning and hope you were having a good day. Glad to hear that you are turning things around and looking at the positives! Great work!

    Oh and that english muffin looks delish!

  7. Heidi said

    Geee … the party is over … the vacation is over … hahaha – that’s all I’m hearing today. It’s great! It’s time to get serious!!!!

    I think I’d have a complete meltdown if I forgot my lunch at home. Though, luckily with my job I could go home and get it if I really wanted to.

  8. Heidi said

    Thanks for your comments. I fully expect this stage to be tough … but I just keep telling myself “TWO WEEKS, it’s not that long, you can do it!”. And yeah … look at Tosca – who wouldn’t want to look even somewhat like her.

Leave a Reply

 
