All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Bloated And Uninspired

Posted by Susan on January 15, 2010

I am bloated today ! I mean big time bloated ! I’ve been pounding the tea and the water like mad lately on top of these Kashi bars I’ve been eating, and I look like I have quite a Buddha Belly! Blech !

Oh well…… I slept last night though so that was good. I also had an AWESOME workout this morning! I felt strong and really pushed myself. I would’ve exercised for another hour if I’d had the time, but I had to get to work.

  • 10 min. spin bike [warm-up]
  • 20 min. elliptical [resistance program]
  • 20 min. treadmill [intervals]

I felt so good afterward! I haven’t been really excited about a workout in a while , so this makes me really happy. I am wondering if the fact that I took a rest day during the week has anything to do with the improvement in my workout performance. I will see if this trend continues. If so I may have to rethink how I split up workouts and rests from now on.

I’ve been experimenting with a new tea that a friend gave me lately. It is supposed to help maintain weight. I drink it at night before dinner, and it seems to help curb the urge to snack before going to bed. It may be all in my head though! It tastes really good though so I will continue drinking it since all it really is just an herbal tea anyway.

Tomorrow I am planning another 12 hour fast day. I’ve been toying with the idea of fasting on Fridays since I inevitably eat more on weekends than I do on weekdays. [I think we all do] Not that fasting on Fridays will give me a free pass on weekends. I still have to watch what and how much I put in my mouth. I just can have an extra snack if I want it, or a dinner out now and then.

My meals today are pretty boring. I just haven’t been in the mood  to be creative lately. I would rather stick to convenient!

This morning I had my usual Breakfast Cookie. I am always the first one in at work. I usually unlock everything and straighten out the gym before anyone gets there. I am really enjoying sitting for a few quiet moments with my BC and some tea before the craziness starts.

When I finally had time to squeeze in lunch, I had a spinach/Laughing Cow Cheese wrap, with baby carrots and a Kashi Chocolate Raspberry Bar. I also snagged a chocolate that was given to the department as a thank-you by a resident. 🙂

I was so happy to get home today! I sipped my herbal tea while catching up on blogs, took a shower and finally got down to deciding what to have for dinner. Although I have a lot of things ready made and ready to just heat up and eat, I still try to offer myself choices.

I ended up having a chicken breast and some couscous, with a spinach salad on the side. Boring , yes, but really , really good!

Dessert? You guessed it! My favorite flavor combination EVER!!!!!!! Chocolate and peanut butter! No wonder I don’t get tired of this for dessert!

OK, not too inspired tonight, but that is how I have been feeling all afternoon. My workout high petered out around 2 PM and I haven’t been able to recover since! Thankfully tomorrow is my favorite day of the week ! I am sure I will feel great at his time tomorrow night !

I am off to bed with a book!

Later

6 Responses to “Bloated And Uninspired”

  1. Heidi said

    ugh, bloat sucks! It should “pass” soon (oh that was horrible – haha).

    I often turn to a warm cup of herbal tea to stave off the munchies. My favourite is peppermint tea, but anything will do. I think it’s the feeling of warm liquid in my tummy that does the trick.

  2. Melissa said

    I hope you have a great Friday and that you get over that bloated feeling. That feeling sucks!

  3. Molly said

    I read a great book You on a diet and it said we retain water when we eat a lot of carbs. Carbs require a lot of water to be processed. I never looked at it like that before. I always thought it was sodium that made me retain water. I had a huge bowl of pasta last night and sure enough I pounded back a pint of water within half an hour.

  4. You may not be inspired, but you always inspire me!

  5. syl said

    I hate that bloated feeling hugs to you Susan!

    Sounds like a great book

  6. Check out my blog for your award. It’s because you inspire me so!

Leave a Reply

 
