All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Am I Really Hungry?

Posted by Susan on January 16, 2010

Last night I got home from work and got right back to work ………. Yes, after and extremely busy day, I decided I would get a jump on the housework and laundry. I did 2 loads od wash, stripped and changed the bed, scrubbed the bathroom, and dusted and vacuumed the house! Not bad huh?

After that Matt and I settled in to watch the last few episodes of my favorite show Glee ! We ended up staying up until close to 2 AM !!!!! When we finally got to bed, I had massive heartburn due to a bag of corn chips I have been dying for most of the week, and when I finally ate them , they were so salty and greasy and gross , that they made me sick! I guess that infatuation is over !

The funny thing about cravings for me, is that when I give in to them, they aren’t so great. They never live up to what my mind thinks they will taste like. Does that make sense? I think that it is good that I actually indulge, because once I do, I am totally over it! I never crave it again! So maybe there is a positive side to giving in to cravings after all.

As you can imagine, I didn’t sleep well last night at all. When Matt got up at 6:30 to go to work I just got up and started my day too. I have definite plans to crawl into bed early tonight to make up for last night!

I decided to do a little experiment today. I am reading the book  Intuitive Eating . It is really interesting, and I will go more into it after I’ve finsihed it. The book mentions about how as babies and toddlers, we were naturally intuitive eaters. We ate when we were hungry, until we were satisfied, and then we stopped. We didn’t know anything about times to eat, or meals, all we knew is that we were hungry, so we ate. As time went on and we grew up, things changed. Depending on how we grew up or what we were exposed to , we lost the ability to eat intuitively.

Today I decided to really pay close attention to the signs of hunger, and the signs of satisfaction, not paying any attention to what time it was. I ate exactly what I wanted , when I wanted , until I was satisfied.

Surprisingly, it was very easy. I had to constantly ask myself, Am I hungry? Most of the time the answer was no. Here are my eats for today:

At about 9:30 I was hungry. It was nice to be home so I could make something hot and leisurely enjoy it. I made some plain oats with 1/2 scoop of vanilla protein powder, 1 c. of Go Lean Crunch, some almonds, some dried cranberries and a spoonful of chocolate peanut butter. It was really good. When I was finished, I was satisfied, but not exactly full.

I wasn’t hungry for lunch until almost 2:00 ! I had a hard boiled egg, Laughing Cow Cheese, spinach wrap. I also had some baby carrots and a some peanut butter, and a Kashi Pumpkin Pie Bar. Absolutely satisfied.

By 6:30 I was hungry for dinner. It was such a good dinner too! I took some left over couscous, put it in a skillet with a little olive oil, and 6 shrimp [a serving]. It was amazing! I added a spinach salad [spinach, RF cheddar, sunflower seeds, and dried cranberries].

I usually have dessert directly after dinner, but I was satisfied, so in the spirit of experimentation, I decided to wait and see how long it took to be hungry for it. I am still not hungry …….. and I won’t eat it until or unless I am !

This experiment today was very interesting. I can honestly say it was eye opening. I guess I should ask myself the hunger question more often, huh?

I am off to get some reading in and get some sleep.

Later 🙂

4 Responses to “Am I Really Hungry?”

  1. Melissa said

    You know, sometimes I am totally ok with satisfied, and sometimes I need to feel full.
    I wonder why the difference on different days?

  2. syl said

    you definatley make it sounds so easy Susan. And its so logical isn’t it, I’m gonna give it a try! Hope you get a good nights rest in today.

  3. Molly said

    Am I really hungry? That is an excellent question. If I just keep thinking about food, I probably am. That’s just me. Now that I run most days, I’m almost always hungry. I work at home and don’t make meals for anyone else, so I’m probably the closest thing to an intuitive eater. I eat when I feel like it. Like most people, I can go for hours in the morning–after I wake up–with just a cup of coffee. I don’t know what that is. But as soon as I start to eat, game over. I tend to eat meals every four hours or so.

  4. I think I am going to try and do the same thing this week. I am constantly driving in my car, so if I get hungry throughout the day, I can eat something in between stores. Thanks for a great idea!

Leave a Reply

 
