All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Yummy Sunday

Posted by Susan on January 18, 2010

I slept like a baby last night ! It felt so great ! I haven’t slept that soundly and comfortably in a really long time. When I got up I had a lot of things I wanted to carry out today!

  • My scheduled Sunday Cardio session
  • Grocery shopping
  • Food preparation for the week
  • Catch up on my DVR shows [not really a necessary, but still something I wanted to do :)]

First thing first, I got my workout in. To be honest, I wasn’t looking forward to exercise on a Sunday, but I had to do it. Once I got started, I got into it:

  • 20 min. SS / spin bike
  • 20 min. Intervals / treadmill
  • 20 min. Resistance Program / elliptical

Once I finished my workout I was really hungry! I didn’t even have to ask myself if I was or not ……. there was no mistaking it! I made some plain oats with a scoop of vanilla protein powder. I added 1 c. of Go Lean Crunch, some walnuts, and a scoop of chocolate peanut butter. It was delicious and filling !

Then it was off to the shop for the groceries for the week. We are on a budget in our house, so while I would love to eat totally organic , it is just not possible. I try to buy as healthy as possible, and still not spend a fortune. I buy some fresh produce and some frozen veggies. I supplement my groceries at over-stock stores and even the Dollar Store.  I buy my chicken and fish at Target, because they have the best prices . I also try to use the staples that we keep in our storage pantry in my meals. Here is my haul for today:

The Chobani was 10 for $10 this week so I stocked up !

By the time we got home it was lunch time already. I wasn’t really hungry yet so I waited a another hour. I decided today I was in the mood for something different for lunch. Isn’t this salad gorgeous! I took some baby spinach, carrots, 2 clementines, an apple, sunflower seeds, dried cranberries, and a little RF cheese. I used a red wine vinaigrette dressing. I also had a few whole wheat pretzel twists. It was such a great taste combination! This is what I love about weekends. I have the time to be more creative with my meals. Everything during the week has time constraints !

After lunch it was time to get to work. I spend most of my Sunday preparing for the coming week. I do this every week because if gives me more time in the evenings after work to relax, blog, and get to bed at a decent hour! When I come home from work, the less I have to worry about the better!

Tonight I had the best dinner! I had chicken, roasted Brussels sprouts, and some whole grain gnocchi. I am so excited about roasted vegetables! This coming from a gal who hated vegetable a year ago! I made some roasted zucchini tonight too that I will have during the week. My head is reeling with ideas ! I want to roast every vegetable in sight! they taste amazing this way. I am so glad I [finally] gave it a try.

I had my new favorite dessert tonight too. Toasted English muffin with peanut butter and semi-sweet chocolate chips! Yum!

The entire day today was delicious! I ate good food, healthy food, but it was so good that I didn’t miss the Sunday mess I would eat in the past. That’s a pretty great feeling. I would never have believed a year ago that I would be just as satisfied with good food [ maybe more] as I am with junk. Progress.

I am looking forward to getting tomorrow done an over with. Not because I am excited to go to work , or anything. I’ve realized something interesting about Mondays. Once I get through them, the rest of the week flies by and suddenly , it’s the weekend again ! 🙂

Kind of silly, but what the hey! It gets me through !

Later 🙂

4 Responses to “Yummy Sunday”

  1. syl said

    I really want to try that english muffin masterpiece, it looks delish! Glad you had a great weekend Susan, good luck tomorrow.

  2. I’m so with you on the Glee!!! I stayed up way past my bedtime last night to watch it…such a good show!

    and I’m with you on the cravings…it’s very rare, anything tastes as good as I remember it!

    have a great week susan!

  3. Melissa said

    I have GOT to get some English muffins to try that dessert. You had a great Sunday and got so much accomplished!!

  4. Beth said

    You have me intrigued with the gnocchi. I spent a good deal of time researching it today. I think I will try to make ricotta gnocchi. It looks like fun. I had no idea what it was!

Leave a Reply

 
