All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

A Week Of Non-Diet Mentality

Posted by Susan on January 19, 2010

Monday is over and I am one happy camper ! 🙂 I think the most difficult part of the first day of a new week is reestablishing my weekly routine after a few days of having the luxury of winging it! Although I love routine, thrive on it really, weekends are heavenly. They allow me to slow down and relax. No clock watching and no pressure. Now that I’ve survived the dreaded Monday, the rest of the week will be a breeze.

This morning I dragged myself out of bed while the husband slept soundly without a care in the world. He had the day off today. I wasn’t bitter though [not much!] I got straight to my scheduled workout:

  • Fat Burning Free Weight Circuit ( x5)
  • 30 min. Resistance Program / Elliptical

The first circuit was a little choppy. I wasn’t fully awake yet. But once I got through the first one , the rest flowed smoothly.

As I mentioned before I have been reading the book Intuitive Eating . I think it is an interesting idea, but not al all sure it is for me. The program is made up of Principals that if followed , supposedly lead you back to eating intuitively, like we were all born doing in the first place.

I thought I would take a Principal a week and work toward perfecting it. I am not really sure it this entire program is for me, but I would love to have a better relationship with food, and learn to eat without guilt, and when I am hungry, not for emotional reasons.

Principle 1 is to Reject the Diet Mentality. Wow! That is a tough one! I have dieted since I was a teenager. Even the thought of not monitoring every single calorie that goes into my mouth either by tracking or in my head makes me feel panicky! I instantly have visions of spiraling out of control and eating everything in sight!

The book explains why diets don’t work. How yo-yo dieting ruins your metabolism. How deprivation diets ultimately turn to a major binge session. I get all that. I even agree with it. But I am still wary about stepping out of the comfort zone of the Diet Mentality.

The theory is that if you allow yourself what you want when you want it, and eat it until your satisfied, not eat it like it’s the last meal before your execution, you’ll be less likely to binge on it. The knowledge  that you can have it again , anytime you want it ,guilt free, allows you to enjoy it, and not feel the need to eat it in excess.

Interesting, yes. Am I evolved enough to put it into action…….hmmmm not sure. There is something inside me that really fears that kind of freedom. At the same time, I am sure that if I’d had  non-diet mentality over the holidays, I probably would not have eaten so much. I think there was a part of me that thought I should cram it all in while I had the excuse. Once January hit, I knew it was back to business.

I am still keeping an open mind, and I will work this week to let go of the idea that certain foods are good and certain foods are bad. I will ask myself  this :

  • Am I hungry for it?
  • Do I want it?
  • Will it be satisfying?
  • Does it taste good?

The bottom line  is………… NOTHING is off-limits. I’m willing to at least give it a try…………we’ll see how it goes.

Now on to today’s eats:

I had my Breakfast Cookie as usual for work today. I love them, they taste like I am indulging, and they fill me up for a good long time, so I think they are a good choice, whether eating intuitively or not. I was not hungry for the rest of the morning.

I had lunch at 2:00. Blueberry Chobani Yogurt with 1/2 scoop of vanilla protein powder, and Kashi Heart to Heart Cereal. I also had some whole wheat pretzels dipped in peanut butter. [yum!]

I tried to think about what I really wanted for dinner tonight. This is what I came up with. A turkey burger on a whole wheat English Muffin, some french fries, some grilled zucchini [awesome BTW], and a small spinach salad with some reduced fat cheese and sunflower seeds.

I had no thawed [I keep them in the freezer] English Muffins left , so I settled for something a little different tonight. I had some sugar-free oatmeal cookie bites with a smear of peanut butter on each. They were so good! I didn’t miss my usual chocolate/peanut butter dessert that much at all!

I felt satisfied after dinner tonight. Not stuffed , not full, but good none the less. I don’t feel as though I deprived myself today, everything I had today tasted good, and I don’t feel guilty. I think I did pretty well.

Tomorrow I get to sleep in [4:00 AM]. It is my Rest Day so no workout in the morning! I am off to bed to read and hopefully to sleep!

Later

One Response to “A Week Of Non-Diet Mentality”

  1. Melissa said

    I think my first comment disappeared!
    I was saying that I totally agree with that principle. I think a lot of us would find more success if we applied this. But I also believe our culture ingrains the “diet” mentality into us.

Leave a Reply

 
