All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

A Confession

Posted by Susan on January 21, 2010

Wow ! Another week has flown by. Like I said , once I make it through Monday the rest of the week is a breeze.

I have a little confession to make …….. I was planning on coming clean with this after the month of December was over. But silly me, I never took into account the damage the holiday’s would actually do! [ 4 lb. gain :(]

I stopped tracking my calories on December 1st. I was doing really well. I was actually on the lowest side of my weight range. Then the Holidays hit, and hit hard! Now I am having a hard time getting the 4 lbs. I gained off!

The only solution I can see is going back to calories counting for now, and maybe in the spring after I’ve stabilized my weight again, try the non-tracking experiment again. I am kind of disappointed , because it was a great feeling to know I was able to maintain my weight without it. Oh well. The only solution I can think of at this time is to go back to what I know works, and that is calorie counting. A part of me feels like it is taking a step backwards, but rationally I know that in order to be comfortable with my weight, it needs to be done.

Now this goes against the whole non-diet mentality thing I was trying out for the week, but I feel that I need to do what I have to do. Calorie counting works for me, and it is time to dust off the calorie counter and the calculator and get back to it! Beginning Saturday, I am officially a calorie tracker again !

Now on to today’s eats:

Breakfast , was my beloved Breakfast Cookie. I am going to have to tear the recipe apart to figure out it’s exact calories now ! Bummer!

Lunch today was a Peach Chobani yogurt with 3/4 c. of Go Lean Crunch , and 1/2 scoop of vanilla protein powder. I also had a clementine and was planning on having this Kashi Bar ……..

But life had other plans for me! it was the boss’s birthday today and one of my co-workers made this fabulous cake from scratch. I decided to have a small piece. It was AMAZING ! Worth ever single calorie it had in it! I love when I decided to indulge in something , and find that it is worth it. From experience I know that most things I think I want are NOT! This was not one of those times though.

Dinner tonight was a piece of Tilapia, some couscous, and roasted Brussels sprouts. I am totally into these little veggies roasted!

Dessert I decided to try The 3 min. Cookie that Tina of Carrots n Cake loves so much. This is my first try……I definitely messed it up BIG TIME! Typical me!

My second try was a success!!!!! I messed up the measurements of the ingredients on the first one. I added some protein powder and dried cranberries to my cookie. My verdict: YUM! It makes a decent size cookie, definitely quenches that cookie craving. I will absolutely add it to my dessert rotation, but I think I will also use it as a breakfast item as well. Oh and I added a little smear of peanut butter to my cookie too. πŸ˜‰

My workout today was great! I am really impressed with the difference taking rest days split up during the week makes. I have had great workouts all week. I wish I’d thought of this sooner! Usually by the last workout of the week [Fri.] I was really not at my best. With the rest days split up like I’ve been doing, I feel like I ahve more energy and I am getting a better workout because of it. I also notice that I have the motivation to push myself harder.

Today was my cardio day:

  • 20 min. SS / spin bike
  • 20 min. Intervals / treadmill
  • 20 min. Resistance Program / elliptical

I am really excited for tomorrow. For one thing , of course it’s FRIDAY !!!!! The other reason is that it is Date night !!!!!!! Matt and I decided that one of our New Year Resolutions was to have one date night a month, and tomorrow is January’s date. We used to go out every Friday night for dinner when we first got married and just relax and talk about the week. then money got tight and I was dieting anyway , so it was one of the things we cut out. I’ve really missed it though, and I’m happy that we are scheduling it in once a month.

OK ! Off I go to relax before going to sleep !

Later

6 Responses to “A Confession”

  1. Tiffany said

    Dessert cookie looks really good.

    I’m not sure what you put in you breakfast cookie, but mine comes in at 350 calories. I think that’s REALLY good considering its staying power.

  2. syl said

    Susan, I have learned that trial and error is the only way to learn. i think you are doing great and it takes alot ot admit that a mistake has been made and to quickly fix it, kudos for you for listening to yourself and making changes.

    Date night… i love date night but with 2 little ones it’s near to impossible, but I think we will be making up for this in November when we go on a 10day cruise πŸ™‚

  3. Beth said

    Susan, I’m sure you realize that 4 lb. is so much better than it could have been. But ouch, I understand the frustration with how hard it is to get it back off again. I also understand the disappointment with trying to maintain without counting. Of course, you DID pick the worst time of year to try not counting! You’d most certainly have better luck at practically any other time of year than December! As far as calorie counting, do you use a program that lets you input recipe ingredients and then tells you the per serving calorie count? Because that makes it practically painless to do your own recipes.

  4. The cookie looks yummy! Hope you had a wonderful time on your date night!

  5. bareitall said

    I think we will all have moments in our lives where we have to go back to the basics. Don’t feel like counting is going backwards–it’s just refocusing you on your goal and knowing the “math” of your day is really helpful for being successful!

    Now I’ll have to try that second cookie too. Breakfast cookies are the best!

    What kind of protein powder to you use? Where do you buy it?

    • Susan said

      I usually buy my protein powder in Target. I just buy whatever Whey protein powder is the best price. Recently I’ve been buying it at BJ’s in bulk.

Leave a Reply

 
