All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Making The Commitment

Posted by Susan on January 24, 2010

Sunday already ! I love them, but they are bitter-sweet. Monday is always around the corner. But that’s OK! I still enjoyed every minute of it!

I have a lot of things I want to talk about, so I am just going to jump in!

First of all, I was really inspired by Syl , I’ve decided to commit to giving P90X another go. I tried this two years ago, and became so frustrated with it, I gve it up. I am so uncoordinated, that I had a really hard time with the cardio routines [Kenpo, Plyometrics, etc…..] they really don’t give much instruction, they pretty much just throw you in the pool and expect you to swim ! I’ve made the commitment to myself to complete all 90 days of this program.

This morning I did my first session [DVD], but first I had breakfast!

This morning I was in the mood for something I don’t get to have during the work week due to time constraints. Since Sunday morning is the perfect excuse to indulge in a leisurely breakfast, this is what I went for! A spinach and Laughing Cow Cheese [2 egg] omelet, a whole grain English muffin with real butter [ the butter [fat] was included to help keep me full longer] and 2 clementines.

After breakfast I got to my workout! I did P90X Kenpo Karate. Honestly, what a mess! I got through the workout, I was able to keep up, it is my coordination ! I felt that if I could at least figure out the moves, I would have had a better workout. I wanted to just say forget it right then and there! BUT ……I changed my mind. I am going to learn the moves, and perfect this program if it’s the last thing I do !

That being said, I added an extra 40 minutes of cardio because I didn’t think that I got enough out of the Kenpo. Don’t get me wrong, the Kenpo kicks some major butt…… but I feel like the time it took me to get used to the moves took away from the effectiveness of the workout.

After my marathon workout, I was ready for lunch! Today I had Progresso Classic Vegetable soup with a sprinkle of FF grated Parmesan Cheese and a humus,spinach, alfalfa sprout wrap. I also had  a Kashi Pumpkin Pie Bar.

Once I finished my lunch, it was time to do some preparation for the coming week:

  • I made a lot of chicken breasts
  • Packed Matt’s snacks for the week and lunch for tomorrow
  • Packed my lunch for tomorrow
  • Baked carrot cake cupcakes
  • Roasted Brussels sprouts
  • Made a batch of couscous
  • Made Breakfast Cookies for the week

Whew! By the time I was finished with all that, it was time to make dinner.

On the menu tonight …… shrimp with couscous and roasted Brussels sprouts. With that I had a spinach salad with low fat feta cheese.

Dessert tonight was one of my little carrot cake cupcakes with 1 T. of low sugar frosting [about 160 calories each]. Cute huh? I made them with a carrot cake mix , and unflavored seltzer soda. They taste great. They are just a1/2 c. little cake but it satisfies  my sweet tooth! I made about 2 dozen, so some I froze and some I kept in the fridge for desserts during the week.

So, at this point I am done eating for the night. Tomorrow morning I will be doing P90X : Chest and Back . I am really tired from today’s workout. I think I will be getting into bed to read and hopefully fall asleep.

Later !

4 Responses to “Making The Commitment”

  1. Aha! I went shopping today and picked up several packages of cake mix. I have made your recipe twice now and I am addicted. I even picked up the carrot cake mix, so that will be another copy cat item. lol… you always give such great ideas for food. It’s one of the reasons why I love coming to your blog. Well, that and the fact you are so inspiring!

    Kick some Kenpo butt!

  2. syl said

    Susan, I get frustrated too, but I’m sticking to it, I can’t do everything perfectly and tend to pause the DVD to get it all done, but I can’t wait for the end result!

    oh and I left you a little award on my blog under yestedays post 🙂

  3. wow… ok, two posts to comment to..

    i’ll start with saturday’s, i have a question, and I’m not being judgemental, but curious… once you hit your goal weight, did you stop using the scale, measuring cups/spoons or was that just since Dec. 1st?

    although, I’m not at my goal weight, I dont think (and I know it’s easy for me to say now)I’d ever give them up.

    It’s funny actually, I requested a Salter scale one Christmas from my in-laws and my BIL was like, what are you going to do with that!? So, I told him.. to measure out meals, portions, etc. and I kid you not, I think he thought I was batshit crazy! I can’t imagine life without them now.

    so..

    I finally made your diet soda cupcakes! Oh my gosh… delish. lighter though. but I can’t wait to have my first dessert. I too made two dozen and they are hanging out in the freezer!

    i agree with you the kenpo, I did it over Christmas break and had little calorie burn for the hour I spent doing it. but i’ve seen people with some great results. can’t wait to see how you do!

  4. Becky said

    Just so you know, I do p90x but only the weight lifting routines. Instead of kenpo & plyometrics, I do my own cardio routines because otherwise I get sick of doing p90x EVERY day plus I really enjoy doing spin class at the gym. I try to do 3 cardio routines + 3 p90x weight routines every week. Just an idea. For the first time in my life I have arm and back muscles!! It’s very exciting.

Leave a Reply

 
