All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Saturday : Back To The Beginning

Posted by Susan on January 24, 2010

Well, today I am going back to basics. I know what works for me, and I am going back to that in order to achieve a new goal! It’s kind of exciting, actually. I woke up this morning ready to go for it with all of the motivation and determination I had the first time around!

The first thing I did was dust off my old tools for success. My measuring cups, spoons, and my trusty food scale. Also my food journal, calorie book and calculator.

I know that a lot of people don’t agree with the whole calorie counting deal. They view it as obsessive, and time consuming, and some even think it to be unhealthy. I personally don’t agree. The entire process , for me, is very easy and helps me keep things [food] in perspective. It is too easy to eat more calories than I intend to.

I think also calorie counting suits my personality. I am a planner,and an organizer by nature. [control freak?] I make lists constantly. I like order. It is comforting to me. That’s probably why I don’t mind writing it all down and counting it all up!

Instead of looking at this decision to start dieting again as a failure, I choose to look at it as damage control. In working to maintain a weight loss, I am probably going to have to do damage control now and then. And it’s OK. I am not going to beat myself over it .[even though I am tempted to!] I am not even going to over think it. I have to do what works for me. Just like everyone has to ultimately choose their own path.

Anyway this is my plan:

  • I have found that I am good with 3 square meals a day plus dessert. So I am hoping to eat 3 500-550 calorie meals a day.
  • Record everything thing I put in my mouth.
  • Continue working out 5x a week, strength, intervals and cardio.
  • Get 7-8 hours of sleep a night.
  • Drink plenty of water.
  • I would like to lose 10 pounds by my wedding anniversary in June.
  • Weigh in every Saturday morning

So there ya go! Today was my first day back in the game!

I was not feeling well all day on Friday. My stomach was killing me! I was bloating, and uncomfortable. I generally felt like crap. We had our date night, but cut it short. All I wanted to do was get home and put my feet up!

But this morning I was back to my old self. I had a lot of cleaning planned for myself today, but first I needed to have a good breakfast to start off my day.

Today, I had a hot breakfast , since I had the time. I had some plain oats with 1/2 scoop of chocolate protein powder, 3/4 c. of Kashi Heart to Heart cereal, and a T. of chocolate peanut butter.I wasn’t really crazy about the combination, but  I love hot oats on a cold morning!

I eat my breakfast too early this morning so I was hungry around 10:00 so I had 2 clementines.

For lunch today I had a chicken salad, alfalfa sprouts, and spinach wrap. I also had some carrots and the best humus EVER!!!!!!!! I had a Kashi Bar with lunch too.

This is going to be my new addiction! It was on sale this week , plus I had a $1 off coupon! Score! It is the best !

Dinner tonight, a chicken breast, a roasted sweet potato, roasted zucchini [I am so into this roasted veggie thing!] and a spinach salad with feta and some dried cranberries! Yum! Yum! Yum! Great meal!

I ended my night with my usual sweet treat! A toasted English muffin, with peanut butter and chocolate chips.

I am happy to report that I stayed within my calorie range for the day. It was a little harder than usual. I am not sure why. Although I’m really not eating anymore than any other day, it felt more difficult. Maybe it is just a mental thing, or maybe it is just the fact that every bite counts now. I am sure I will get used to it.

On the agenda this evening? A quick trip to Target, and then home, hot shower, and then I am going to lay in bed with the TV remote, my lap top, and a cup of herb tea. I don’t want to snack tonight. I never eat in bed, I just don’t associate the bed and snacking the way I do with longing on the couch watching  TV! I’m hoping this will fake out my urge to late night snack !

I want to get a really good night’s sleep tonight because I am starting something new in the workout department ……… I’ll fill you in on that tomorrow!

Later for now ………….. 🙂

3 Responses to “Saturday : Back To The Beginning”

  1. Melissa said

    Sounds like a great day! I can’t wait to see what you have up your sleeve tomorrow!

  2. suzanne said

    I’m so glad you got your mojo back!! Can’t wait to find out your new routines 🙂

  3. syl said

    I’m so excited to have you start and share this experience with you Susan, I’m sooo happy 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
