All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Intermittent Fasting

Posted by Susan on January 27, 2010

Today was a fast day for me. I’ve been asked a lot of questions about this and I figured since I am incorporating this back into my life, it was a good time to explain what it is and how it worked for me.

Before I go any further though I want to make a few things clear. This is something that works really well for me. It isn’t for everyone. There are many people who don’t agree with it, and that’s OK. I did a TON of research on Intermittent Fasting [IF] before experimenting with it last April. And that’s all it was the first week I did it, an experiment. I just want to make sure it’s understood that I am not condoning starvation, and this post is my opinion and nothing more.

Whew! Now that’s out of the way I will tell you about my experience with fasting.

The program I do is called Eat Stop Eat . Basically it is a weight loss method based on intermittent , flexible fasting periods [1-2 days per week] designed to rev up metabolism and create a calorie deficit. The method is science based, can be used with any diet program or eating style.

Last night I had a good balanced meal with dessert for dinner, and didn’t eat anything until dinner tonight [24 hours]. Surprisingly this is much easier than it sounds. I find that I am not hungry, not really hungry.It’s more of a mind game than anything else. The worse I have experienced is that “empty belly feeling” , but I keep myself really hydrated through out that day and that helps. I also indulge in a Diet Coke on fasting days because the carbonation helps my belly not feel as empty. Again, I must admit, true hunger, like starving, I have yet to feel while fasting.

The first week of my IF experiment I got some pretty impressive results on the scale. I lost not only weight, but  fat %, and lowered my BMI a little. I obviously found this very exciting and it motivated me to try it another week , in case it was just a fluke. Keep in mind that I was also exercising 1 hour a day [circuits, intervals, and SS cardio] and was keeping my calories range between 1500-1700 on non-fast days [even weekends].  I like fasting on Tues. and Fri. , dinner time to dinner time, but there is no set rule. You can do it any time frame and any day[s ]you want.

The next week I got similar results, so I stuck with it. I lost steadily until I reached goal weight, 1-2 pounds a week, and my Fat % and BMI continued to drop. Once I hit goal I fasted here and there, but pretty much stopped it all together. Something I feel I shouldn’t have done. Next time around I plan on incorporating it into my maintenance phase [with an upped calorie range , of course].

I had success with this method, but again it is not for everyone! So please ….. no hate comments :).

Here are my eats for today:

I had a turkey burger with humus and spinach [YUM!], on a whole grain English Muffin, and some Brussel sprouts. I also had my favorite salad combination: spinach, feta cheese, and dried cranberries.

For dessert I made another 3 Min. Cookie ……. soooooo good !

I am so happy to report that today I am feeling so much better. For the past few weeks I’ve felt so all over the place! On the verge  of complete panic but at the same time complacent. Today I finally feel like I am back in the driver’s seat; I am driving the food, it isn’t driving me.

I am now ready to do a few little things around here and get to bed ! Tomorrow’s another day!

Later

7 Responses to “Intermittent Fasting”

  1. syl said

    Susan I have just one question – how do you fast through your workouts? I am comparing your workouts to what I am doing right now as far as intensity and I know that when I am done my one hour workout I am just Famished!

    Go for you for getting through it! It sounds like a great thing, even for the “cleansing” part of it, as it allows your body to rest.

    I am of the opinion that you do what is right for you and this is something that works for you.

    I just thought I would ask this question because I truly am curious…feel free to tell me to butt out 🙂

    • Susan said

      Syl,
      Since I workout first thing in the morning in a fasted state everyday anyway, it doesn’t bother me. I am still working off the energy of the night before’s dinner by the time 3 am and workout time rolls around. The only time I can say I am really hungry is literally right before I eat!

  2. Interesting on the fasting. Never realized it could be beneficial. I realize it’s not for everyone. Thanks for sharing it!

  3. Melissa said

    I think fasting can be really good if done correctly and researched. Good for you doing the research and incorporating it in.

  4. oh susan…

    thanks for being so honest about maintenance and what your going through.

  5. Thanks for sharing your story. I love documenting success stories. Mind if I do a link post on my blog? Appreciate it, either way 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
