All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Rebellion

Posted by Susan on January 29, 2010

Warning: This post contains subject matter [poop] that may be sensitive to some readers. If you have any objections to TMI, read no further.

As I’ve mentioned in past posts, I am a reformed veggie-hater. I was one of those kids who hated and refused to go near them. I hated the sight , smell and texture of anything that resembled produce. In my defense , the “produce” at our house consisted of mostly frozen vegetables. I was a child of the 70’s. Frozen convenience foods where the new thing. For my mother, who worked full-time [teacher] and ran the entire house, did all the running around with us,and most of the raising of us [my dad commuted and wasn’t home until we were in bed 5 days a week] frozen foods were a God send!

After many tries at getting me to eat what I should, and a lot of wasted food and money, my mother just gave up. She made us what she knew we would eat, because it made her busy life easier. Plus, I really don’t think there was much emphasis on health and fitness back them. We grew up eating what I still think of as awesome meals. Breakfast for dinner [pancakes or french toast], hot dogs and cheese wrapped in Pillsbury crescent rolls, tater tots, oven fried chicken, frozen pizza every Tuesday night, tuna casserole with potato chips crushed on top. But not a veggie in sight!

Fast forward to the future. I am in my 40’s and I am determined to embark on a healthier lifestyle [and lose 70lbs.] and the closest thing I eat to a vegetable is iceberg lettuce and corn! I started expanding my horizons in the lettuce department and eventually moved on to raw spinach, but for a long time I was eating only salads as my vegetable.

Recently [last year] I told myself that I needed to try things. One of my resolutions last year was to try a new veggie every 2 weeks at least. I found that I will eat just about any vegetable raw, and I like spaghetti squash, butternut squash fries [thanks to the Hungry Girl cookbook] and also a great spinach recipe too [also HG].

Lately I have been into roasting veggies. I was convinced I didn’t like “cooked” vegetables, until I tried the roasting method and now I am roasting everything in sight!!!!! I am so proud of myself for introducing new things into my diet, and being open minded enough to try things.

There’s just one problem ………. my stomach is in a huge rebellion! It has no idea what is going on! I’ve never heard so many rumbles and churning sounds in my life. That I can live with. It is the mass explosions I can do without !

For the past few mornings , when I am coming to the end of my workout, my body starts making noises. There is something about doing intervals on the treadmill that really gets things going. It is always when I am in the last 5 minutes, and I really want to finish strong. Out of nowhere I have to go [poop] and I have to go BAD! Today I jumped off  mid-run and bolted to the bathroom! I was so afraid I wasn’t going to make it! This has been happening a lot lately! It comes on quick and it is so urgent that I and running bent over to the bathroom and praying to make it on time. Today it happened at WORK !!!!!!! I hate to go at work and will hold it at all costs, but this was one time I had no choice.

I hope that my stomach calms down soon and get accustom to my new eating style, because it is getting embarrassing! Has anyone else ever had their body’s react this way to good foods? Maybe, after all these years of eating processed , fatty junk, my body is just in shock! I hope it lets up soon because I love my roasted vegetables and have no intention of cutting them out of my life.

I guess my body and I are at war. I sure hope I end up winning! [Sorry for the TMI]

Here are my eats for today:

Breakfast was…… guess? No surprise ……. a breakfast cookie and green tea. I’ve been using my breakfast time to plan out my food for the day. A little multi-tasking.

Around 9;30 I had a snack. A (Re)Fuel Bar and a clementine. I am sure these bars are not helping the tummy rebellion, but I really like them and they help keep me going until lunch, so they’re saying !

Lunch today was a Peach Chobani Yogurt with Go Lean Crunch cereal mixed in. I also had my new obsession, carrots dipped in roasted garlic humus [I could eat this stuff by itself with a spoon] .

Dinner tonight was a Tilapia fillet, some left over couscous and leftover roasted zucchini. Also a spinach/feta/dried cranberry salad.

Dessert tonight was one of the carrot cake cupcakes I made on Sunday. I made them with a carrot cake mix, and 12 oz. of seltzer water. I frosted them with 1 T. each of Pillsbury Reduced Sugar Frosting. It was the perfect little treat!

Now I am off to bed! Tomorrow is FRIDAY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am fasting tomorrow, and getting my hair done after work [I am long overdue for a color!] I can’t wait to get home tomorrow and relax knowing that I am free for 2 days!

Later [oh and wish me luck on the treadmill tomorrow!] 🙂

4 Responses to “Rebellion”

  1. syl said

    not sure about your tummy issues, haven’t experienced that so i can’t really comment, although I hope you are feeling better soon.

    I hope you have a great relaxing weekend.

  2. I am sorry. But I had to laugh so loud when I read the poop part on the treadmill. You were able to describe it so well. lol… I am still chuckling here.

    The reason why I am laughing so hard is because I have gone through the same thing. It will get better. hehehe…

  3. Katie said

    I have had that happen to me too and it is NO FUN. I am the same way about going to the restroom at work too. I answer the phones so I always have to have someone cover for me which stinks (no pun intended)I think its all the fiber in the veggies and hopefully your body will adjust to them soon.

    Enjoy your weekend!

  4. Heidi said

    I’m late responding to this, but I half read it the other day and wanted to come back to comment.

    When I first started running, I HAD to run on the treadmill because of tummy issues. I think my body was cleaning itself out from all the junk I had been eating. It’s barely an issue now.

    Although … the other day I had a protein shake. I rarely ever have them and shortly after having it I thought my stomach would explode. I spent the rest of the night in the bathroom (if ya get my drift…). I think it may have been a sensitivity issue to the artificial sweetener in the protein shake. Haven’t you increased usage of protein powder lately? Maybe that’s the culprit???

    It could be the veggies though too, especially if your having cruciferous ones like brussel sprouts, broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage, etc. If that’s the case your body should adjust to it soon. Hopefully sooner rather than later.

Leave a Reply

 
