All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Treat Day

Posted by Susan on January 31, 2010

Yesterday was a really looooooong day! Work dragged on forever, and afterward I had a hair appointment that lasted over 2 hours! [cut and color change] By the time I got home, had dinner, and got comfortable I could hardly keep my eyes open! I was in bed before 9:00.

Of course my internal alarm clock woke me up around 4AM ! I tried to get myself to fall back to sleep. Sometimes I am able to do this with no problem, but not this morning! I was wide awake! Instead of laying there tossing and turning, I just got up.

I started the laundry, had a hot cup of tea and started catching up on some blog reading. I came across a recipe at Iowa Girl Eats for Pumpkin Pie Baked Oatmeal , and decided to give it a try. I’ve had a can of pumpkin puree in my cabinet for months now, dying to try them in oatmeal, but I’ve never gotten around to it. Since I was up so early, and it was so bitter cold outside, I thought they would be a perfect Saturday breakfast.

I wasn’t disappointed either! They were amazing. First of all they were super easy to make, and secondly, they made my kitchen smell so wonderful with the brown sugar and cinnimon and pumpkin smells combined. I had 1/2 of the baking dish with a spoonful of chocolate peanut butter. It was heavenly. Super creamy and spicey. A perfect breakfast, and I have enough left to heat up for another breakfast tomorrow morning! I will definately be making this recipe again ! [ I added 1 T. of vanilla protein powder to the original recipe]

I spent the remainder of the morning getting my shopping list and coupons set for tomorrow’s grocery shopping trip, and watching The Bachelor on DVR. I pretty much lounged around and relaxed.

Matt had to work a few hours this morning [yay overtime!] and by the time he got home and Kate was dropped off for the day we decided to run over to our favorite over stock store and see what we could find. I got a few things for lunches and this book for $3! I almost sent for that book for $24.00 last year!

I love diet and workout books, especially ones with recipes. I read them, take what tips I can use from them and leave the rest. I am not one to follow any specific program anymore. It never seems to work for me. I am better off gathering all the knowledge that I can use, that pertains to me.

Before we left for our day of shopping I had a mid morning snack since I ate breakfast so early. I had one of the (Re)Fuel bars I made earlier in the week, and a clementine.

While we were out Matt stopped at McDonald’s for lunch for he and Kate. I thought about it, but decided against it. I had lunch planned at home and was more in the mood for it , than a burger and fries.

When we got home I made myself a hard boiled egg / Laughing Cow Cheese / spinach / sprouts wrap with roasted garlic humus and pretzels on the side. Much better that a junky burger and even junkier fries!

For dessert I has a few handfuls of these delicious chocolate covered almonds! [ TREAT! ]

Dinner tonight was pretty simple. I had a chicken breast with leftover couscous and roasted Brussels sprouts, with my favorite side salad of spinach, feta, and cranberries.

Now the fun part! I’ve decided to make Saturday Treat Day ! I know that most diet experts will discourage the use of food as a reward. I don’t feel that way. I love food, especially desserts. I will never , ever be able to ban these things from my life forever. I would be kidding myself to even try.

For this reason I’ve decided that if I am good all week, I deserve one controlled goodies at least. I did this last year when I was dieting [and losing pretty steadily each week] and it worked for me. It kept me from feeling completely deprived, it gave me something to look forward to, and it made me happy.

I also have another reason this time around in implementing it back into my life. I’ve noticed lately, and I’ve mentioned it often, the fact that I will crave something, and then when I finally have it, realize, it’s not as great as I dreamed it would be. I really want to work on weeding out the treats that are not worth it, that I don’t totally love. I noticed over the holidays I was eating things just because I could, not necessarily because they were good, or that I even liked them ! What a waste! I am hoping that next year, I won’t make that mistake again.

So this little [huge] beauty is my treat for tonight. An Apple Crumb Muffin from Costco ! Someone brought these in for us at work yesterday, and I wanted one so badly! Instead of indulging though, I took one home with me and stuck it n the freezer to have tonight. We will see if it lives up to how great I remember these muffins to be! I will let you know tomorrow!

The plan for the remainder of my Saturday night ? A hot shower, cozy pajamas, my muffin with a hot cup of hot chocolate , and some TV! Perfect Saturday night in my book ! Have a good one!

Later

2 Responses to “Treat Day”

  1. Annie said

    Pumpkin pie + oats = best thing ever! Throw in some pumpkin pie spice and it’s SUPER delicious!

  2. Your Saturday night sounds sooo good. Mine was spent watching a lousy team play hockey. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

 
