All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Sleep-in Sunday

Posted by Susan on February 7, 2010

I slept this morning until 7:15 !!!!!!! For me, that is INCREDIBLE ! I have an internal alarm clock inside of me that doesn’t allow me to sleep past 5:00 most mornings. I must have needed some extra sleep.

Here is an update on “Treat Night”. So good! It was definitely worth the calories! Not that I am surprised, Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups are my thing! Always have been. Last night’s indulgence definitely goes on the worth it list !

I made myself some Instant Baked Pumpkin Oats again for breakfast this morning.  Today I added some slivered almonds and dried cranberries and of course chocolate peanut butter to the mix. A perfect start to my day!

When Matt got up this morning, we ran out to the grocery store before the Super Bowl rush! We grabbed a few things for the week, and ran! It is FREEZING here in CT today. Cold temps. plus wind chill! When we got home I had a hot cup of tea before dragging myself down to my gym for a spin class.

I don’t mind working out on weekdays, but I honestly hate it on weekends. I have no idea why, maybe because during the week it is routine. On weekends it is a struggle because I’m in a totally different frame of mind. But ……. I do it anyway because it is an hour out of my day, and once I do it, I am always glad I did! Today was no different. I always forget how much I love spinning.

One of my goals this week is to fit in 1-2 classes in after work. I wanted start doing it last week, but with my delicate “condition”, I wasn’t able to do it. This week I am going to try to work a few classes into my days.

Before spinning, I had a mid- morning snack. A (Re) Fuel Bar.

After a great workout:

  • 10 min. warm-up /elliptical
  • 50 min. Spin and Burn class

It was time for lunch. I was in the mood for something warm and comforting today. This is what I came up with……

The ultimate comfort food on a cold winter day, soup and grilled cheese. I had a bowl of Progresso Classic Vegetable Soup, topped with reduced fat Parmesan Cheese, and a grilled cheese sandwich made with a slice of American Cheese, and some spinach. I made the sandwich with Olivio Spray instead of butter. It was a perfect lunch. Brought me back to the soup and sandwich nights when I was a kid.

I am not a football person, and neither is Matt, so I spent the rest of the day reading, and watching a Ghost Hunters marathon on the SyFy Channel. I have a huge interest in anything paranormal. I’ve had a few encounters in my life of things I just can’t explain. The subject fascinates me.

I also snacked on a few handfuls of Kashi Heart to Heart cereal.

For dinner tonight I had a chicken breast, 1/2 a roasted sweet potato, roasted zucchini and roasted Brussels Sprouts. I added a spinach/feta/cranberry salad to my meal as well.

Dessert tonight was a Strawberry Chobani Yogurt with 1 T. of granola , and to top off my night, a hot cup of Sleepy Time Tea.

Herb tea is my new night time obsession. Maybe it is all in my head, maybe not ……. but it seems to relax me and make me sleep better. It also curbs that snacky feeling I get in the evenings before bed. In my head or not, as long as it works to my advantage, who cares, right?

I can’t believe the weekend is over. Oh well, another one is a mere 5 days away!

Later

3 Responses to “Sleep-in Sunday”

  1. Susan! Your food always looks so good! I just don’t have the time to post pictures much. Wish I did.

  2. Tricia said

    Yum, all the roasted veggies look great!

  3. Katie said

    Your food looks so yummy! :]

    You go girl!

Leave a Reply

 
