All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Sticks And Stones ………

Posted by Susan on February 13, 2010

Today at work there were the typical Valentines Day celebratory goodies. Chocolates galore, cup cakes, conversation hearts, lollipops, you name , it was around……. ALL DAY !

At lunchtime, I was sitting with some women who were passing around a large plate of gigantic, cupcakes the size of my head, decorated with sprinkles, and gum drops and sugary frosting. When the plate was passed to me, I just kept passing it.

They were not very tempting to me. For one thing they were huge, and for another thing, I wasn’t really sure they were worth the calories, and didn’t want to take the chance of indulging in something just because it was there, not because I really wanted it. Plus I knew I had my special Saturday Treat waiting for me and that was enough to convince me in that split second to wait.

One of the women at the table made a comment……. ” Oh come on Sue, live a little! You’re way too obsessed! I would hate to live like you! Your just no fun at all!”

I wish I was one of those people who could think of smart come backs in a matter of seconds, but to be honest, I was taken aback by the comment, so I just sat there like a dope.

Since losing weight I’ve had the entire spectrum of opinions thrown my way. Everything from ….. your such an inspiration …. to….. don’t you think your taking this weight loss thing too far? your not turning anorexic are you? Sometimes like today, the comments embarrass me. Sometimes I wish that I could say what I really think. What do I really think?

  • I wasn’t happy with myself so I did what I had to do to change it.
  • I like how I am, and do what I have to stay that way.
  • I work hard, I am determined, and I am focused …… since when is that a bad thing?
  • I’m 46 years old and in the best shape of my life, wearing a size I’ve never EVER worn, and I’m proud of it!
  • I don’t want to waste calories on something I don’t know is good, I’d rather spend them wisely on something I KNOW is worth it!
  • I workout because I love how I feel afterward, it is a part of my everyday life, just like brushing my teeth, or showering.
  • Why should I have to justify the way I choose to live to anyone?
  • Why should I have to feel embarrassed about something I worked my ass off for?
  • Why is what I eat  any of your business, let alone even remotely important to you?
  • It feels really good to make a goal for yourself and accomplish it, and no one can take that away from me.
  • I have plenty of fun in my life. It’s just that my fun doesn’t revolve around food anymore.
  • Some people just don’t “get it”, and they never will!

After thinking about it afterward, I decided that everyone is entitled to an opinion ……. even me! I am happier than I’ve ever been with myself. For the first time I can honestly say, I accept myself. I am not perfect, but I like myself anyway.

The one thing that no one will ever understand , unless they stand in my shoes, is how badly I wanted to change. How much I needed to change.

So if people want to think of me as obsessed with the whole eating right and keeping my body fit thing, let them. If they want to think that I never have any fun in my life, let them think that too. Only I know where I was, and the freedom that came with making a decision to commit to myself.

It may be a lot of work keeping all the hard-earned benefits I’ve gained, but for me it was and is all worth it! I don’t need a cupcake to make me happy, and I don’t need approval from others. All that matters is what I think …… and I think I am just fine!

Happy Valentines Day !

7 Responses to “Sticks And Stones ………”

  1. Kerry said

    Hey!!!
    Sorry I haven’t left a comment in ages…I feel so busy all the time!!!! BUT I’m always reading. I just wanted to say…people like this are pretty damn annoying. I think half the time its jealousy. Your success reminds them of their failure. Screw them! You look fantastic and are probably way healthier! You are entitled to make decisions about how you eat…don’t let them make you feel bad!

    • Kim said

      I think if someone told me to “live a little” I would just look at them with a shocked face and tell them “I am truly living now!” I lost 50 pounds and now truly feel alive. Eating a cupcake – geez, that’s not my idea of living. Don’t get me wrong, I will indulge if I know it’s worth it, but I’ve found that food at work is rarely worth it. Don’t give them a second thought – they don’t get it.

  2. Beth Lamb said

    I’m totally clueless why people think it’s okay to say things like that!

  3. Sall said

    Isn’t it amazing how people can push their insecurities on other people? The lady probably felt bad herself for indulging and thought that if you did too it would make it ok. You ARE an inspiration! I can totally understand you’re thought process in passing the cupcakes – the fact that she can’t is her problem, how dare she but all that on you.

  4. hmmm… my comment back to ” Oh come on Sue, live a little! You’re way too obsessed! I would hate to live like you! Your just no fun at all!”

    Response…

    “It’s fun just knowing that physically, I could kick your a$$.”

  5. Or to show her that you were all about fun, you could have stuck your finger into the icing under one of those gumdrops and spread it on her nose. . .”This living it up enough for you? Now that WAS fun!”

  6. Heidi said

    WOW what a rude comment. I’d “HATE” to live like you. Strong words! You could have said “I used to live like you and I hated it. NOW I’m happy”.

    Why do people have to think that eating, drinking, indulging equates with “FUN” or “living a little”?

    I rarely, if ever, drink anymore and a friend recently commented that I wasn’t any fun anymore because I don’t drink. I know he was just joking and really when I did drink with these people it was a glass of wine, maybe two – so not like party hardy! But the comment still pissed me off because there must have been a little truth to it.

    I can bet that if this woman was trying to live a healthier life she’d be mad if someone tried to be a food-pusher to her. Obviously she’s not seeing the other side.

    GRRRRR!

Leave a Reply

 
