All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Positve For Change On A Monday

Posted by Susan on February 16, 2010

I woke up this morning ready to start the week on a positive note. I refuse to allow Mondays to be my mortal enemy anymore! It’s just a day like any other right? The reality is, that I have to work. If I don’t I have nothing. It is what it is, and I may as well just accept it and make the best of it.

Before my workout I had a Kashi Fruit and Grain Bar. I have a whole bunch of these I bought before I started making my own, so I want to use them up! Once these babies are gone I will replace them with homemade ones! Having a bar before working out gives me just enough energy get in a good workout and without feeling over-full!

This morning I had a GREAT workout! I ended up taking 2 rest days [both Sat. & Sun.], and I must say it did me good. This morning I was full of energy and ready jump right in !

  • Body Weight Circuits
  • Ab Circuit
  • 30 min. Intervals / Treadmill

What I love about my early morning workouts is that they make me feel accomplished at the very start of the day. That feeling of accomplishment stays with me and makes me feel more powerful in all other aspect of my life. When I got to work it was the typical Monday craziness, but I feel more equipped to keep up with it all knowing I have a good ,sweaty workout under my belt.

I think a part of my new found positivity comes from knowing that spring is around the corner. This coming Wednesday is already Ash Wednesday! That means Easter [which always has signified Spring to me] is just around the corner. It feels so good to know that this cold weather is going to wind down and I will be able to get back to some of the outdoor activities I am really missing lately! I don’t know about you, but I am so ready for a change in the weather department!

That being said, we are supposed to get a snow storm tonight. 😦 Oh well, At least I can take comfort in knowing that it won’t be long now!

I was really hungry for breakfast this morning after such a productive workout. I was really looking forward to my Breakfast Cookie! I made them for the week on Saturday. I just take one out of the freezer while I’m getting ready for work, and it is set to go by the time I’m ready to eat it.

I had a [homemade] ReFuel Bar for my mid morning snack at work. I brought a clementine, but it was gross. I tasted it , but ended up throwing it out. I was mushy and tasteless. I hate when that happens! Good thing the ReFuel Bar has plenty of staying power, so it held me until lunch time. This week’s batch of bars I made with vanilla protein powder, instead of chocolate. I think I like them even better this way!

I made myself a tuna and spinach wrap for lunch today.Unfortunately, I don’t get a lot of time for lunch. Most of the time I just gobble it up as fast as I can so I can get back to work! Not a great way eat , but in order to get out of there on time [super important] it’s necessary!

On the ride home I snacked on 3/4 c. of Kashi H2H cereal and a bottle of water. I’ve newly adopted this habit of a snack on the way home and it’s really working out well. I sometimes find it challenging when I first get home from work. I always want to snack on something. Having the cereal, with it’s slight sweetness and the crunch factor, makes me feel like I am having something good [meaning good as in junky!].

When I got home from work the first thing I did was cut up and roast a sweet potato to add to my dinner tonight. I had a chicken breast and roasted Brussel sprouts [both made ahead] with half of the sweet potatoes. I also had a spinach/feta/cranberry/sunflower seed salad.

Dessert tonight was again, yogurt and granola. Strawberry Cobani yogurt has become my favorite dessert lately!

I hope this little touch of spring fever I’ve been experiencing lately lasts. It beats the hell out of being miserable every Monday!

My Total Calories For The Day : 1617

Not bad! As you can see, I ate a LOT of food! Since I am taking the time to track my calories I may as well post them as well !

I’m off to relax and enjoy some Sleepy Time Tea , and look for something new to read!

Later

3 Responses to “Positve For Change On A Monday”

  1. Syl said

    I had sweet potatoe and brussel sprouts tonight too, great minds think alike 🙂

  2. Tiffany said

    Where did you get your bar recipe? I’d like to try to make my own.

    And I’m with you on the Monday thing – I hate them too, but like you said, we gotta work..so I’m also trying to be more positive on Mondays!

  3. Heidi said

    I finally got around to making those refuel bars this weekend and they are AWESOME! I’ve made 4 batches so far because my family gobbled them up. Oh well, at least they are good for them. I don’t like raisings so made some substitutions. I have done: butterscotch chips / craisins / coconut & mini choc chip / butterscotch chips & craisins. SOOOO good! I finally put the last batch in a baggy and hid them. The recipe says to cut them into 5 bars, but I find I get 8-10 and sometimes I cut those in half too.

    I had half a bar before my run on Sunday and it sat perfect in my tummy. It’s always risky changing what I eat before a long run, but this worked. It feels like such a treat too. Thanks for sharing these!

Leave a Reply

 
