All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Just A Thought

Posted by Susan on February 18, 2010

I know I’ve posted this before, but I feel like it’s something worth repeating – especially at this time of year, when a lot of people feel those New Year Resolutions loosing steam.

There is no better motivation than results !!!!!!

Last year, when I was in the midst of my weight loss journey, nothing motivated me more, made me more enthusiastic, or kept me more inspired, than waking up every Saturday morning and seeing the proof of the hard work I did all week. Seeing the weight, BMI, and Fat % lowering little by little. Feeling the difference in how my clothes fit, noticing small changes in my body week by week.Those small changes added up, and the more they added up, the harder I worked, and the more I pushed myself. Every small victory, week by week chipped away at my goal, and made me feel stronger and more powerful, not only physically, but mentally as well.

So celebrate every small change you see in your body,and use it as fuel to whatever your goal “fire” may be. Small things add up over time and turn into big things.

Weight loss and maintenance is time consuming. Making it all gel for me, means meal planning, cooking , early mornings and evenings, tracking all of my calories, and being mindful every minute of the day of what I eat and how much I move. That on top of all the other things we all have to do, like work, keep a house, husband , family and friends makes this a challenge.

But even with the time constraints, I still feel like it is totally worth it. What I get from in return for the all the extra work is worth it. I’ve gained so much in return. I think to myself, What would I be doing if I wasn’t doing the extra work involved in accomplishing my goals? The answer is I would be sitting on my butt on the couch, watching TV, and probably snacking. I would be making excuses not to go places because I have nothing to wear that doesn’t make me look like a house. I’d be in that vicious circle of feeling depressed because of the weight, and eating to feel better ……. even though the eating is what is the cause of the weight, that is making me depressed!For me, there is no question. I would much rather do the extra, to get keep what makes me happy!

So when you feel like the honeymoon is over, and the New Years Resolutions aren’t as important as they seemed on January 1st, keep in mind that if you keep on pushing through, even when your heart isn’t totally in it, the little spark of motivation will ignite the minute you start to see the little things all the hard work brings. Fake it, until you make it! Sooner or later you’ll realize your not faking it anymore.

This morning I got up and had a great workout. Thanks to some extra sleep, it took me a lot less time to get in the groove than yesterday!

  • Body Weight Circuits
  • Ab Circuit
  • 30 min. Intervals / Treadmill
  • ** PM** SPIN CLASS !!!!!!!!! [after work]

Breakfast this morning was the usual Breakfast Cookie. I love these things, I never get sick of them!

My mid- morning snack today was a (Re)Fuel Bar.

By 11:30 I was really hungry, so I broke into my lunch and had some baby carrots and roasted garlic humus.

At 2;00 it was finally time for lunch. I had a spinach and Laughing Cow Cheese wrap.

On the ride home from work I snacked on some Kashi Heart to Heart Cereal.

I was in the mood for  ” Breakfast for Dinner” tonight . I made a spinach and Laughing Cow Cheese omelet, a toasted whole grain English muffin with some Olivio spray, and a spinach salad.

Dessert tonight was the usual. Strawberry Greek yogurt with granola sprinkled on top.

Total calories for today :1544

I am really proud of myself for getting in my Spin Class today after work. I was more than tempted to skip it. [the reason I always workout in the morning] I am so glad I didn’t! It is a nice way to blow off steam after a day of work!

Now I am off to bed. Although the spin class was great, it threw me off time-wise, and it’s getting to be past my bedtime!

Later


2 Responses to “Just A Thought”

  1. Melissa said

    I love me some breakfast for dinner (or supper in Melissa-speak!) YUMMY. You make me want to do that tonight!

  2. what great advice…now must go do it!

Leave a Reply

 
