All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

A New Week, A New Program

Posted by Susan on February 22, 2010

And so it begins, another work week. After yesterday’s relax-a-thon, I felt totally ready to get the week off the ground with a great workout!

As I mentioned yesterday, I am embarking on something new in the workout department for the next 6 weeks. As I was doing my 20 min. on the elliptical yesterday morning , this book caught my eye.

I bought this a few years ago, when I was a really active member of SparkPeople. I was looking through member’s profiles and come across this particular member who’s body looked amazing. After looking at her photos, I learned that she’d truly transformed her body. She mentioned this book in her profile and I contacted her and asked her about it. She recommended I try it, so I immediately ordered the book.

In the meantime, which happened frequently in those days, while waiting for the book to arrive, I wandered into a different direction and put the book on my book shelf for future use.

Yesterday I opened it up to find that it is essentially a circuit routine [ my favorite! I love circuits!] . It is an integration of stretches and strength-training exercises to help you reap the benefits of Synergy. The book contains precise strength training moves immediately followed by specifically chosen stretches to make the strength training move more effective. As a result, your muscles are supposed to become longer and stronger than they would if you were to do the exercises by themselves.

The program boasts that the results of this program are leaner legs, firmer glutes, flatter stomachs and well toned arms. Also, increased energy, increased metabolism, fat loss, improve joint strenght, flexibility, and balance. Since I actually saw the results from this woman I found through SparkPeople, I am pretty intrigued.

The book is itself is well laid out. Each exercise is explained in detail, with large clear color photos of each exercise. This for me is a huge help. I hate when I am trying to figure out an exercise move from a tiny, grainy black and white photo! It makes me nuts, and I am sure more than most of the time I am doing the move wrong the first few times.

Aside from the book, the only other “gear” needed to do this program is a stability ball, relitively heavy free weights [she likes you to lift as heavy as you can manage] and a towel. That’s it! The program is definately “work out at home” friendly.

There are custom programs available in the book, I chose to try the ” Fat Blasting Focus Program” to start with. There are also levels of the workout for different fitness levels. [Basic, Intermediate, Challenge] I chose to start with Intermediate. The program calls for 20 min. of cardio 3x a week, [preferably intervals] but I plan on adding extra, just because I want to. It’s what I’m used to and I happen to enjoy it so ….. why not?I’ll keep you posted on my progress as the program unfolds. 🙂

So today started like every work day, with a 2:45 AM wake-up alarm. Once I got dressed and had a before workout Kashi bar, I was ready for action. It was time to get downstairs and workout!

  • Core Circuit
  • 20 min. Intervals / Treadmill
  • 20 min. Elliptical / Resistance Program

The new workout ? The moves were challenging. Who knew that adding a rolled up towel between your knees while doing crunches on a stability ball could make your abdominal muscles scream for mercy?! The stretching after each move felt amazing, too. I still can’t give a real verdict until I do a full week, though. Tomorrow is the Lower Body Circuit. I’ll have to see how it goes. It almost seems too easy in some ways, but that’s what I said about Turbulence Training at the beginning, and it ended up being not only tough, but changed my body completely, so I am wary about making hasty judgments.

I will say that for a Monday, I was full of energy! [something the program claims as one of the benifits] I am not sure if it was in my head or not. After completing my circuits, I was primed and ready to jump into my planned cardio without a second thought. And the energy spilled over to my day as well. Wether in my head or not, I’ll take it! I feel sluggish and blah on Mondays, as a rule. It was nice not to deal with that today.

I guess time will tell if this program is all it’s cracked up to be!

I was really hungry for breakfast once I got to it! I had a yummy, delicious Breakfast Cookie. Seriously, I crave these things. I love anything that resembles a baked good, and these, although not baked, are close enough for me!

My mid-morning snack today was a (Re)Fuel Bar. I made these with Vanilla Protein Powder again, and I think I like these much more than the chocolate ones …..

Lunch today was a tuna wrap with some baby carrots on the side.

I had some Kashi H2H Cereal for snack on the ride home from work. Love this stuff!

Dinner tonight consisted of a chicken breast, some roasted Brussels sprouts, some couscous, and some roasted squash. It doesn’t look like much , but it was still great in the taste department!

I skipped dessert tonight because I had a few [too many] handfuls of semi-sweet chocolate chips when I got home from work today ! [not good!] That will teach me ! No dessert for me!

In other news, I finally got some new uniforms. Unfortunately, scrub pants are unisex, so they are cut big. I bought a size small, and they are still to big! Oh well …. We also have to wear polo shirts now too! I HATE polo shirts ! I am flat chested, and I feel like a look like a teenage boy when I wear them !Fashion plate at work. NOT!

Having survived my first day of the work week ……. I am exhausted! time for some hot tea and bed !

Later

3 Responses to “A New Week, A New Program”

  1. Lynn said

    Best of luck with the new program! It sounds like it has you excited & that is always good. 🙂

    Did I read that right…2:45am is your wake up time? Goodness, what time do you go to bed?!
    Note to self, stop whining about waking up at 6am. lol

    Wishing you a great week!
    Lynn

  2. Tiffany said

    The new program looks good. I look forward to hearing how you like it!!!

  3. much better!! your lookin good!

Leave a Reply

 
