All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

A New Month And A New Goal : Project 13

Posted by Susan on February 28, 2010

I apologize for my MIA status of late, but I was just feeling uninspired in the writing department. I also needed time to think about where I want to go with my goals.

My workouts have been stellar lately. I am so into it, so ready to challenge myself . I’ve added extra workouts, and a new Circuit Program, and I feel stronger, and better than ever physically.

I figured this was the perfect time to throw my focus into a new Goal! I want to get my weight to 135 lbs.  by June 1st, 2010.

This gives me 13 weeks to accomplish. That will end up to be a 5-11 lb. loss [depending on the day !]. I think that amount is absolutely d0-able in the span of 13 weeks. June 1st is also just in time for the vacation we have planned.

I am calling this new plan Project 13:

  • Eating small meals every 2-3 hours during the day
  • Drinking 16-24 8oz. glasses of water a day
  • Working out 5-6x a week [ circuit training, intervals, yoga, spinning, SS cardio]
  • 7-8 hours of sleep a night
  • Tracking calories, keeping within 1500-1700 calories a day
  • Weigh-in once a week [Saturday mornings]
  • One scheduled [moderate] “treat” per week : Saturdays

Starting Weight:  146.8 lbs. [ my weight has been fluctuating like mad since I added the extra spin classes during the week ! Some days I am 142 lbs. , other days I am up to 147 lbs. !!!!!!]

Goal Weight:  135 lbs.

Official Start Date: Monday, March 1st [tomorrow]

I am excited to have something to work toward, especially when I am feeling so motivated! Plus I am one of those people who always does better with a specific goal established. When I lost the initial weight, I had a goal to lose it before my 2nd wedding anniversary. I accomplished that goal. I will accomplish this one as well.

Also, the date of June 1st has a dual meaning for me ….. if I am at my new goal weight by that date, I will have also accomplished keeping the initial weight off for one year. So as long as I am not over 140 lbs. on June 1st, I will have maintained for one year, as well!

I am seeing this new plan as something to work at. Right now I need something to strive for. I feel like, maintaining, although with it’s own challenges, sometimes leaves me a little bored. It got to the point during the weight loss stage where my momentum was up , and it was almost like a game that I was determined to win. This competitive side of me came out that I never even knew existed!

I was so proud of myself, and I felt to positive and unstoppable. I think this is just the shot in the arm I need  right now. I need something to focus on and work for. It must be an end of winter funk or something, but I am feeling really blah! Not physically, but mentally.

I am hoping that Project 13 will be just the shot in the arm I need to get me through the remainder of the winter.

So ……. Here’s to a new month and a new challenge! I can’t wait to begin!

4 Responses to “A New Month And A New Goal : Project 13”

  1. Melissa said

    Sounds great! You can and will do this!!

  2. Pam said

    Good going, Susan. You are doing so great. I’ve been following your blog for a while and am just now taking the time to post. I’m 5’8″ and lost 50 pounds in 2006 (from 190 to 140). I’ve been up and down since then by about 5-10 pounds but in the last 6 months I am down to 132-135 and really like this weight. I would like to keep it around 130 so I have some wiggle room. I find that I need to get my calories down to 1200 before I am able to lose. Plus, I work out intensely 6-7 days a week, incuding every other day for a total of about 20MPW. Have you ever checked out the maintainters forum at 3FatChicks? There’s an awesome bunch of ladies there who are maintaining large losses. There are also awesome exercise and weight lifting forms that you would LOVE. Best of luck to you. You will achieve your goal and I am looking forward to following your progress.

    Pam

  3. Heidi said

    I know exactly what you’re going through. I got to this same place a couple weeks ago. Put my plan in place and it’s going awesome. I was just floating for too long with nothing to aim for. I NEEDED that something to aim for, it drives me.

    You will totally get there Susan. I know how determined you are and nothing will stop you.

  4. Missy said

    Looks like a great, tangible plan! Can’t wait to see you hit your goal!

Leave a Reply

 
