All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

The “Real World”

Posted by Susan on March 5, 2010

I’ve noticed something since I started doing yoga this week. I feel calmer. I am usually a really hyper person. I am always rushing around, even when it isn’t necessary. I sometimes drive myself nuts trying to do everything at once, and end up forgetting things in my haste to fit everything in.

This week has been remarkably different. I don’t feel as rushed, I don’t feel like I’m going to fly of the handle at every little thing that interferes with my routine. I just feel better able to roll with the punches, and wound a little less tightly. I am surprised to say this, but maybe yoga is beneficial to my well being as well as my body.

The one thing I’ve been wondering about The Biggest Loser DVD’s. Are they taped during the contestants time on the ranch, or after the finale? Because aside from Ali [who looks AMAZING still] the rest of the participants look heavy. I mean, they look nothing like they did on the finale. I hope that the DVD’s are in fact, taped during the show’s taping , because if they aren’t, that is pretty disheartening.

I’ve seen the show where they check back in with past contestants to see how they are doing. A lot of them have gained back some of the weight they lost. I think partly that is because , in the real world, with work, family, life, it is impossible to workout 6 hours a day. It is impossible to eat perfect ALL the time [we all know how that is!]

I think Ali is probably the most successful out of all , because it you remember, she was originally sent home early. She lost a lot of the weight at home and was brought back in the middle of the season. She learned early on how to “fit it all in”. How to juggle life with goals. I remember being blown away when they brought her back mid-season and seeing all the progress she made on her own. It was major inspiration for me. I think it is harder at home than at the ranch.I think Ali was a much more relate-able example of what can be accomplished in the “real world”, you know , the one WE live in!

Anyway, today was my Friday!!!! I was so happy to get out of work today knowing I am free for 3 whole days!!!!! Tomorrow is Matt’s birthday so the day is his to choose what we do. I am glad to go along with that plan!

Today’s workout looked like this:

  • Core Circuit
  • 20 min. Intervals / Treadmill
  • 20 min. Elliptical / Resistance Program

* No PM workout today

My food for today looked like this:

5:30 am : oatmeal with 1/2 c. Of Go Lean Crunch, and a spoonful of chocolate peanut butter

9:00 am : a hard boiled egg

11:00 am: a (Re)Fuel Bar

2:00 pm: tuna with 1 T. of mayo, and some baby carrots

3:30 pm: Nature Valley Nut Clusters [1 serving]

6:30 pm: chicken with roasted veggies [cauliflower, butternut squash, Brussels sprouts] and some fingerling potatoes

………….. and a Fiber One muffin with FF cream Cheese for dessert

Total Calories For Today : 1341

Now I am all about relaxing! I woke up this morning at 1:30 am !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I just rested , laying there until the alarm went off, but I wasn’t sleeping. the plan for tonight is to watch some TV, do some reading, and sip some herb tea. For me, that’s a perfect night! it feels so good to know I don’t have to clock watch, and I can do whatever.

I have a feeling though, given the early hour I woke up, it will be a fairly early night for me! Oh well ……. I’m off!

Later

4 Responses to “The “Real World””

  1. Syl said

    I often wondered the same thing susan, I think the DVD’s are taped while they are still on the ranch.

    Happy Friday to you and enjoy your long weekend 🙂

  2. Heidi said

    Someone posted an article about Mandi & Audrey from BL the other day. I think this was it …

    http://www.missoulian.com/lifestyles/health-med-fit/article_61dfa730-1b0e-11df-b9e3-001cc4c002e0.html

    It says in there that they work out for like 10 to 12 hours a day and near the end they were consuming 600 – 700 calories a day. That’s just crazy.

    No doubt that they can’t keep that up in the real world.

    I like the show, but I don’t agree with it entirely.

  3. Mishy said

    i’m sorry if you’ve already posted it, but would you mind posting your recipe, (or leading me to it), for your (re)fuel bars, and possibly include the nutritional breakdown if you have it? i’ve made a batch once before and didn’t care for them, i’m thinking yours look better than the ones i tried. thanks!

  4. Katie J said

    Hope you have a great 3 day weekend Susan and Happy Birthday to Matt!

Leave a Reply

 
